Cover image for Babymouse : beach babe!
Title:
Babymouse : beach babe!
ISBN:
9780375832314
Publication Information:
New York : Random House Children's Books, c2006.
Physical Description:
91 p. : ill. ; 18 cm.
Series:
Reading Level:
GN 390 L Lexile
Added Author:
Summary:
Grab your sunglasses! School's out and Babymouse is headed to the beach for a week of sun, sand, surfing, snorkeling, and sharks! That's right, folks . . . sharks! Looks like Babymouse's summer fun isn't shaping up quite the way she expected! Will Babymouse survive her summer vacation? Will she be the surfing star she dreams of being . . . or is she sharkbait?!
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Paperback book J GRAPHIC HOL 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book J GRAPHIC HOL 0 2
Searching...
Searching...
Book J GRAPHIC HOL 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book J GRAPHIC HOL 0 2
Searching...
Searching...
Book J GRAPHIC HOL 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book J GRAPHIC HOL 1 1
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling and Newbery Honor winning author Jennifer Holm teams up with Matthew Holm to bring you a fully illustrated graphic novel series packed with humor and kid appeal--BABYMOUSE!

With multiple Children's Choice awards and over 1.7 million books in print, kids, parents, and teachers agree that Babymouse is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ivy and Bean, Big Nate, Dork Diaries, and the Ramona chapter books!

Grab your sunglasses!
School's out and Babymouse is headed to the beach for a week of sun, sand, surfing, snorkeling, and sharks! That's right, folks . . . sharks! Looks like Babymouse's summer fun isn't shaping up quite the way she expected! Will Babymouse survive her summer vacation? Will she be the surfing star she dreams of being . . . or is she sharkbait ?! Find out in Beach Babe --the 3rd hilarious, action-packed installment of the beloved Babymouse graphic novel series!

Here's what people are saying about Babymouse!

The Chicago Sun-Times:
"Move over, Superman, here comes Babymouse!"

Starred Review, The Horn Book:
"Nobody puts Babymouse in the corner!"

Booklist:
"Cute, smart, sassy Babymouse is fun and funny, and this book, like its predecessors, will draw reluctant readers as well as Babymouse fans."

The Bulletin:
"An almost absurdly likeable heroine."


Author Notes

After graduating from Dickinson College, Jennifer L. Holm became a broadcast producer of television commercials and music videos for numerous companies including Nickelodeon, MTV, American Express, Hershey's and Huggies. Her first book, Our Only May Amelia, was a 2000 Newbery Honor Book. Both Penny from Heaven and Turtle in Paradise were Newbery Honor recipients in 2007 and 2011, respectively. She is also the author of numerous series including Boston Jane, Babymouse, and The Stink Files, which she writes with her husband Jonathan Hamel. Her title, The Fourteenth Goldfish made The New York Times Best Seller List in 2014.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 5

School Library Journal Review

Gr 1-3-Babymouse's family spends summer vacation at the beach. During boring or difficult times, the young mouse uses her imagination to take her to far more interesting and exciting places. Her younger brother wants to play with her, but, like most big sisters, Babymouse wants nothing to do with him. When he runs away, she realizes how important he is to her, and how much fun they can have. The story moves quickly, and readers are sure to notice that whenever Babymouse has trouble with a character, it is illustrated as a cat. The black-and-white cartoons are highlighted with splashes of pink that become darker when the action intensifies. This book will be popular with young graphic novel fans as well as devotees of the genre in general, especially reluctant readers.-Ronnie Gordon, Brooklyn Public Library, NY (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. All rights reserved.


Publisher's Weekly Review

The Quail Club by Carolyn Marsden continues the story begun in The Gold-Threaded Dress (which, according to PW's starred review, "hits the issues of this age group squarely and truthfully"), as Oy must work to keep her place in the Quail Clubso Liliandra won't kick her out. Ages 7-10. (May) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Horn Book Review

In her latest graphic novel adventure, Babymouse and family head to the beach for a vacation. Babymouse dreams of surfer stardom, but her plans are foiled by crowds, nasty waves, sharks, and little brother Squeak. With her tongue in cheek, Holm conveys Babymouse's imaginative anticipation and her disappointment. The simple pink, black, and white illustrations are expressive and dynamic. (c) Copyright 2010. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. All rights reserved.


Kirkus Review

The little mouse with the big personality skips through a third set of mini trials and triumphs, presented in two-color graphic novel-style panels. Having daydreamed her way through the last day of school ("Good-bye, dumb fractions!") and even cleaned out her locker, Babymouse bounds eagerly into the car for a getaway to the beach. But what with crowds, surfboard wipeouts, sunburn, the odd shark and trying to keep adoring little sibling Squeak at arm's length (which isn't quite far enough to avoid the fallout, so to speak, of occasional bouts of motion sickness), the vacation starts to look like a big fizzle: "Typical!" to quote Babymouse's watchword. Pairing short bits of text in a "hand-lettered" font to small but clear scenes drawn with dark lines and pink highlights, the authors tell a quick, funny tale that ends on a warm note, with Babymouse discovering that wipeouts are more fun when shared with her biggest little fan. Emergent readers will cheer "Babymouse!" right along with Squeak. (Graphic novel. 6-8) Copyright ©Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

Gr. 4-6. If Ian Falconer's pig Olivia grew a few years and turned into a mouse, she would be Babymouse. In this third hyperkinetic, pink-washed adventure, as frolicsome and breathlessly paced as the previous two, the squiggly whiskered heroine heads for a family summer on the beach. Packed with the energy of 100 kids, she launches a catastrophic surfing career and tries to keep little brother Squeak out of her fur. Adventurous and refusing to stick to gender-stereotyped pursuits, Babymouse is on the lookout for a partner to share her flights of fancy. A slight penchant for selfishness notwithstanding, before the summer is through, she realizes that the perfect playmate has been sitting right under her pink nose all along. Both story and art take full advantage of the lively possibilities of Babymouse turned loose from school (where teachers educate via the blah blah blah method) to explore the larger world with an imagination run wild. --Jesse Karp Copyright 2006 Booklist