Cover image for Mr. Pants : it's go time!
Title:
Mr. Pants : it's go time!
ISBN:
9780803740075
Physical Description:
127 pages : color illustrations ; 19 cm
Reading Level:
GN 520 L Lexile
Added Author:
Summary:
On the last day of summer vacation, all Mr. Pants wants to do is play laser tag but Mom and his sisters, Foot Foot and Grommy, have other ideas.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book J GRAPHIC MCC 0 2
Searching...
Searching...
Book J GRAPHIC MCC 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book J GRAPHIC MCC 0 2
Searching...
Searching...
Book J GRAPHIC MCC 0 1
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Fans of Bad Kitty, Wimpy Kid, and Fly Guy will love this brand new graphic novel chapter books series!

Meet Mr. Pants! It's the last day of summer, which means the last chance for fun, and he really, really wants to play laser tag. But his sisters have other ideas--the Fairy Princess Dream Factory? Gah! Good thing Mr. Pants knows how to get what he wants--and have a blast doing it.


Author Notes

Scott T. McCormick is a marketing and advertising copywriter, and he makes great smoothies. He lives in North Carolina with his family and his cat, the real Grommy LuluBelle.

R. H. Lazzell is a graduate of the Art Institute of Philadelphia. He's a freelance illustrator and lives in southern New Jersey with one cat who is nothing like Mr. Pants.


Reviews 4

Publisher's Weekly Review

Newcomers McCormick and Lazzell blend a chapter-book format with a comic-book sensibility in an oddball story about three cat siblings and their human mother. Mr. Pants, an orange cat with boundless energy, has neglected to clean his room, and now his end-of-summer trip to play laser tag is in jeopardy. Over seven semi-episodic chapters, Mr. Pants clashes with his responsible sister, Foot Foot, over a new toy, back-to-school shopping, and trips to build dolls at the Fairy Princess Dream Factory and, yes, play laser tag. Meanwhile, four-year-old Grommy, a white puffball, just tries to keep up with her siblings. Lazzell's digital cartoons-simple, flat shapes outlined in black-provide many visual gags for a story that unfolds almost entirely through speech-balloon dialogue ("Why couldn't she be beautiful and deadly?" Mr. Boots asks the shopkeeper at the doll store after learning that nunchucks and bazookas aren't available as accessories). The jokes can be hit or miss, but readers with highly demanding siblings will find plenty to recognize in this family's harried day of activities and errands, while enjoying Mr. Boots's lighthearted comeuppances. Ages 6-8. (July) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Booklist Review

In this collection of short vignettes, Mr. Pants wants to have fun playing laser tag on the last day of summer, but his sisters Foot Foot and Grommy want to make dolls at the Fairy Princess Dream Factory and shop for school first. Mr. Pants is certain he will be miserable, but he ends up having fun encouraging his sisters, as well as all the other girls there, to make warrior and ninja princess dolls. Trying to rush his family through school-supply shopping, Mr. Pants ends up with a unicorn backpack. When they finally finish shopping in time for laser tag, Mr. Pants learns something about the secret laser tag champion in the family. Young readers will most likely take it in stride that the cat siblings have a human mom. Mr. Pants and his family are a typical suburban family, and the sibling rivalry is authentic, not to mention laugh-out-loud hilarious. Lazzell's simple, bold-outlined, full-color art is easy to follow, and the book uses a simple panel design that allows new comics readers to easily follow the action.--Kan, Kat Copyright 2014 Booklist


School Library Journal Review

Gr 2-4-An initially obnoxious cat named Mr. Pants takes center stage in this graphic novel. The short chapters detail the adventures and high jinks of Mr. Pants and his two cat siblings, depicted with bright, colorful palette and in varied panels that match the quirky volume. After a jarring introduction to the key players, kids will quickly warm up to the curious feline and connect with his antics and multilayered relationships. Children will also see themselves in the title character as he is open to learning about new things and embraces them with gusto. The perfect book for those who have outgrown their beginner readers but are not quite ready to move on to chapter books. Plot twists keep the tale engaging and add depth to this light fare. Fans will wait excitedly for the next book in this fun, rollicking series.-Trina Bolfing, Westbank Libraries, Austin, TX (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Kirkus Review

McCormick and Lazzell try to pass off frenetic bad behavior and annoying sibling rivalry as amusing antics and engaging character development in this graphic-style chapter book.The focus is on family interactions and everyday activities, though the family in question is at least a little bit odd. Inexplicably, Mr. Pants, an orange cat with two distinctly different-sized eyes, Foot Foot, a smaller gray cat, and Grommy, a white kitten with a pink bow, have a human mother who sports stylized Laura Petrie hair and gives off a retro vibe. The plot focuses on big brother Mr. Pants, who nags his mom for an end-of-summer outing while whining his way through a trip to the "Fairy Princess Dream Factory" and a back-to-school shopping spree. Uneven attempts at injecting humor vary from adultcentric (Mom's shoe addiction and Mr. Pants' nicknames for his sister, which include My Left Foot and Agony of deFeet) to gross-out (Mr. Pants' grungy room). Despite the graphic-novel format, there's no sense of flow to the static artwork, which features panels of varying sizes in mostly muted shades of mustard, plum, gray and mauve with flat, spare settings and simply silhouetted characters.Pedestrian, predictable and totally tedious, this generic effort fails to appeal either visually or literarily. (Graphic novel. 7-9) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Excerpts

Excerpts

"So funny you'll spit. And then you'll probably be grounded for spitting in the house. But it'll be worth it." Fuffles, Cat-tastic Magazine   "This book's got everything: wombats, dragons, princesses, and even a cardboard box!" Kitty-Witty, Boxes Magazine   "Definitely not recommended." Dr. Scowls, The Journal for Cats Who Hate Fun Excerpted from It's Go Time! by Scott McCormick All rights reserved by the original copyright owners. Excerpts are provided for display purposes only and may not be reproduced, reprinted or distributed without the written permission of the publisher.