Cover image for The house on Foster Hill
Title:
The house on Foster Hill
ISBN:
9780764230288
Physical Description:
364 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
"Kaine purchases an old house sight unseen in her grandfather's Wisconsin hometown. But one look at the eerie, abandoned house immediately leaves her questioning her rash decision. And when the house's dark history comes back with a vengeance, Kaine is forced to face the terrifying realization she has nowhere left to hide. A century earlier, the house on Foster Hill holds nothing but painful memories for Ivy Thorpe. When an unidentified woman is found dead on the property, Ivy is compelled to discover her identity. Ivy's search leads her into dangerous waters and, even as she works together with a man from her past, can she unravel the mystery before any other lives--including her own--are lost?"--Google Books.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book FICTION WRI 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book FICTION WRI 0 1
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Outstanding Debut Novel from an Author to Watch

Kaine Prescott is no stranger to death. When her husband died two years ago, her pleas for further investigation into his suspicious death fell on deaf ears. In desperate need of a fresh start, Kaine purchases an old house sight unseen in her grandfather's Wisconsin hometown. But one look at the eerie, abandoned house immediately leaves her questioning her rash decision. And when the house's dark history comes back with a vengeance, Kaine is forced to face the terrifying realization she has nowhere left to hide.

A century earlier, the house on Foster Hill holds nothing but painful memories for Ivy Thorpe. When an unidentified woman is found dead on the property, Ivy is compelled to discover her identity. Ivy's search leads her into dangerous waters and, even as she works together with a man from her past, can she unravel the mystery before any other lives--including her own--are lost?


Author Notes

Jaime Jo Wright is the Publishers Weekly and ECPA bestselling author of two novellas, and a human resources director by trade. She lives in Wisconsin with her husband and two children. The House on Foster Hill is her debut novel. To learn more, visit jaimewrightbooks.com.


Reviews 1

Library Journal Review

DEBUT Widow Kaine Prescott's snap decision to buy an old, abandoned house in her grandfather's Wisconson hometown quickly turns into a nightmare. Malevolence haunts its hallways, and Kaine learns that Foster Hill House has a tainted past, including a murder at the turn of the 20th century. In 1906, Ivy Thorpe discovers the body of a recently pregnant girl stuffed into the base of a tree. Obsessed with finding both the missing baby and the murderer, Ivy puts herself directly in the crosshairs of the killer. Headed by two strong female protagonists, Wright's debut is a lushly detailed time-slip novel that transitions seamlessly between past and present, leading to the revelation of some surprising family secrets that someone would kill to protect. VERDICT Readers who enjoy Colleen Coble and Dani Pettrey will be intrigued by this suspenseful mystery. © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.