Cover image for My pillow keeps moving!
Title:
My pillow keeps moving!
ISBN:
9780425288245
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 27 cm
Reading Level:
AD 380 L Lexile
Added Author:
Summary:
"A clever pup ends up in a cozy home, and she'll do anything to stay there. She impersonates everything the lonely homeowner needs--a pillow, a footstool, a jacket. But in the end, being herself works best"--
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book EASY GEH 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book EASY GEH 0 1
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A lonely man tries to buy a pillow . . . and ends up with a new best friend in this silly and sweet doggy tale, perfect for fans of Officer Buckle and Gloria .

Dogs make good pillows, don't they?

A clever pup ends up in a cozy home, and she'll do anything to stay there. She impersonates everything the lonely homeowner needs--a pillow, a footstool, a jacket. But in the end, being herself works best. Laura Gehl's spare, humorous text and New Yorker cartoonist Christopher Weyant's expressive characters will leave young readers giggling and begging for more.


Author Notes

Laura Gehl's previous books include One Big Pair of Underwear , illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld, and the Peep and Egg series, illustrated by Joyce Wan. Laura lives in Chevy Chase, Maryland with her husband and four children. Visit her online at www.lauragehl.com.

A cartoonist for The New Yorker , Christopher Weyant's work has been published worldwide in newspapers, magazines, books, and online. His cartoons are in permanent collection at The Whitney Museum of American Art and The Morgan Library & Museum in New York City. In 2015, he won the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for his first illustrated children's book, You Are (Not) Small , written by his wife, Anna Kang. Chris lives outside New York City with his wife and their two daughters.


Reviews 5

School Library Journal Review

PreS-Gr 2-Shivering outside The Pillow Place storefront, a dog hatches a plan to find a home. Snuggling among the cushions, the resourceful little dog is purchased and goes home with a customer. Although the pup has all the qualities of a soft and fluffy pillow, she's returned to the store; the man complains that the pillow keeps moving. At the Furniture Barn, the same customer buys a footstool-it's the jaunty pooch again. The footstool is returned, this time, for being too noisy. Readers will root for the dog, anticipating what object the animal will impersonate next to win the man's heart. The final act where a cat works its way into the new family is a delight. Reminiscent of Arthur Howard's Hoodwinked, Gehl's charming story leaves the audience wondering when the lonely man will catch on to the companionship the animals can offer. Weyant's cartoon images, with labels and captions, replace a narrative text. Humorous and lively, the cartoons keep readers in on the joke, but can occasionally feel adult in look and sensibility. VERDICT A sublimely silly tale for pet lovers, suitable for storytimes and one-on-one sharing.-Sarah Webb, City and Country School Library, NY © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publisher's Weekly Review

A guy walks into a pillow store, and from there, Gehl and Weyant's story becomes increasingly silly and delightful. The gentleman-a mustachioed, bespectacled, mild-mannered fellow who lives alone-believes he is making three perfectly normal purchases: a pillow, a footstool, and a jacket. In each case, readers can see that the purchase is actually a clever stray dog looking for a warm home. When the man's purchases start acting strangely (the pillow moves, the footstool howls, the jacket burps and farts), he tries to return them to an unctuous, unyielding salesman, who insists that the items meet all the necessary criteria ("Is your pillow fluffy?" he asks. "Then your pillow is not broken, sir"). The all-dialogue text and classic New Yorker-style cartooning (Weyant is a regular contributor to the magazine) prove how powerfully funny repetition can be. Adult readers may be reminded of Monty Python's "Dead Parrot" sketch, although in this case, the critter is very much alive and everyone comes away happy. Ages 4-8. Author's agent: Erzsi Deak, Hen & Ink. Illustrator's agent: Holly McGhee, Pippin Properties. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Horn Book Review

A homeless dog sneaks into various shops and masquerades as a pillow, a stool, and a jacket. Each time, the same man buys the item, becomes dissatisfied, and complains to the store. Finally, he realizes the dog is "more of a Jackie than a jacket" and adopts her. Straight-faced and deadpan, the dialogue and cartoony illustrations together make the odd situation quite funny. (c) Copyright 2019. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Kirkus Review

An enterprising little dog insinuates its way into the heart and home of an unsuspecting man.First seen on the street huddling with a cat for warmth, the canine enters a shop called the Pillow Place and curls up on a pile of pillows. An unnamed, mustachioed, nearsighted white man is rather unobservant and mistakenly chooses the puppy for his bed. But this "pillow" does not conform to expectations, moving around and leaving the man sleepless. He tries to return the "broken" item, but, as the smarmy, white clerk points out, it is soft and fluffy and therefore "not broken." The canine protagonist then emulates a footstool that at home is too noisy but very comfy. The jacket the man next purchases has a furry dog collar that makes stinky burps and belches, but the man has to admit it is indeed warm and cozy. Finally he realizes the truth and names his new friend Jackie. On their way to buy a new hat, Jackie winks at the orange cat, who has been lurking patiently in nearly every scene, andvoil, a cat hat. Gehl's tale is slight and wonderfully silly. Weyant's clever, brightly hued, digitally enhanced watercolor-and-ink cartoons provide details that enlarge the action and greatly add to the fun. Little readers will delight in being more sharply tuned to events than the confused gentleman and will gleefully point out the visual clues.A sweet gigglefest. (Picture book. 3-6) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

In an episode that ultimately evolves into a warm tale of animal adoption, a solitary, middle-aged gent goes shopping for, in succession, a pillow, a footstool, and a winter coat. He comes away from each specialty shop with the same stray dog, which he tries to use and then tries to return because as a pillow, it moves around; as a footstool, it keeps barking; and as the ruff of a coat, it farts continually. But each time, the sales clerk economically portrayed in Geisel Award winner Weyant's broadly simple cartoon illustrations as the same man in a different loud suit persuades him that he got what he paid for. Better yet, when the man later goes out to buy a hat, the inviting wink his canine sidekick slips to the stray cat who has been silently watching throughout has a predictable result. A final view of the man in an armchair, his feet propped up on a (conventional) footstool, and his two new animal companions in his lap makes a cozy coda.--Peters, John Copyright 2018 Booklist