Cover image for Crafty Llama
Title:
Crafty Llama
ISBN:
9781681191218
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 25 cm
Added Author:
Summary:
Llama knits while considering what special thing she wants to do, and soon all of her friends have joined her except Beaver, who only likes to make things that are useful.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book EASY KER 0 1
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A darling new character from New York Times bestselling illustrator Renata Liwska! Created with author Mike Kerr, this is a story about crafting, friendship, and the very best gifts, perfect for fans of Extra Yarn .

Llama loves to make things. It doesn't matter what, really--something special, something lovely .

Beaver loves to make things, too. But he likes things to be useful .

On this lovely day, Llama is inspired. She is having fun making things, like gifts for her friends. And soon many of her friends are inspired right along with her. But Beaver needs to think about what Llama and the other animals are making. What useful thing can he do with this day?

With lots of craftiness and fun, this is a delightful story about how something lovely can be useful, too, and how the best gifts are the ones that bring us together.


Author Notes

Mike Kerr and Renata Liwska have successfully collaborated before--at home, doing or avoiding chores, and on the road, sketching at any trendy coffee shop they come across. As a husband-and-wife team they have now taken their collaboration to the next level by writing and drawing about one of their favorite subjects--handmade crafts!

When not creating best-selling and award-winning books such as The Quiet Book written by Deborah Underwood, Renata likes going to craft fairs to be inspired by the love and care that craftspeople put into their precious creations.

And when not living vicariously through the many successful illustrators he has had the good fortune to teach as an instructor at the Alberta College of Art and Design, Mike likes going to craft fairs to be motivated by the dedication and determination of crafty creators.

Visit their website RANDMcollective.com to learn more.


Reviews 3

School Library Journal Review

K-Gr 2-The message of this fun story is simple and pertinent: If you do things that make you happy, you are bound to share that happiness with others. Llama is presented with a beautiful day and knows that there are tasks she should be doing, but she wants to do something special. So, she begins knitting, trying to think of what she can do on her special day, and as she knits, other animal friends join her to work on their own crafts. At the end of all her thinking, she has many special creations to give her animal friends. They love them, except for Beaver who doesn't know what to do with his gift. He has trouble understanding crafting and making unless it's useful, but with a little help from Llama, and a little crafting of his own, Beaver is able to figure out that making for fun is very useful. The illustrations are cozy and delightful, just like the text. VERDICT A fun and inspiring read-aloud for student makers and a first purchase for elementary school libraries.-Meghan Oppelt, Whitehall School District, WI © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Horn Book Review

Llama is inspired to create "Something special. Something lovely." Her friends (Rabbit, Raccoon, Deer, etc.) join her, quilting, beading, painting, and weaving as she knits. Then Beaver arrives, and his need to create something "useful" prompts Llama to consider how her knitting might be put to practical use. Gauzy, pastel-colored pencil illustrations reflect the animals' gentle activities and calm friendships as they share their "special, crafty, useful" talents. (c) Copyright 2019. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Kirkus Review

Llama and Beaver both enjoy making things, but for different reasons.One day, Llama decides she wants to make something but isn't sure what. Nevertheless, she starts knitting. Friends visit, and each decides to start on a project, too. One paints, and others embroider, bead, weave baskets, or sew. Beaver drops in on the crafty gathering. He likes to make things, too, but his projects have to be "useful." He asks Llama how her knitting will be used, but she admits she has no idea. Friends gather to suggest different ways it could be usedas a sail, rocket ship, hot air balloon basket, each depicted in meticulous stockinette stitch that's hand-drawn but almost looks photo-collaged inbut none seem safe. Beaver leaves to think up an idea of his own. Thinking harder, Llama discovers ways her knitting can be usefuland Beaver ends up making something useful but lovely too. Soft-edged, whimsically anthropomorphized animals are downright adorable, especially as each friend shows their gratitude to Llama for their new, knitted "somethings" (a trunk carrier for Elephant; a turtleneck for Turtle). Husband-and-wife team Kerr and Liwska combine their love of handmade crafts in this book designed to spark interest in crafts with young readers. Like Llama and Beaver, they will see that despite having different outlooks, there are many ways to work together.A sweet meditation on the value of creating, regardless of use. (Picture book. 2-6) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.