Cover image for The wicked king
Title:
The wicked king
ISBN:
9780316310352
Edition:
1st ed.
Physical Description:
326 pages : illustrations, map ; 24 cm.
Summary:
After learning that Oak is the heir to Faerie, Jude must keep her younger brother safe. To do so, she has bound the wicked king, Cardan, to her, and made herself the power behind the throne. But he does everything in his power to humiliate and undermine her, even as his fascination with her remains undiminished. Someone close to Jude means to betray her, threatening her own life and the lives of everyone she loves. Now she must uncover the traitor and fight her own complicated feelings for Cardan, in order to maintain control as a mortal in a Faerie world. --
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION BLA 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION BLA 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION BLA 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION BLA 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION BLA 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION BLA 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION BLA 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION BLA 0 1
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

The enchanting and bloodthirsty sequel to the New York Times bestselling novel The Cruel Prince.
You must be strong enough to strike and strike and strike again without tiring.
The first lesson is to make yourself strong.
After the jaw-dropping revelation that Oak is the heir to Faerie, Jude must keep her younger brother safe. To do so, she has bound the wicked king, Cardan, to her, and made herself the power behind the throne. Navigating the constantly shifting political alliances of Faerie would be difficult enough if Cardan were easy to control. But he does everything in his power to humiliate and undermine her even as his fascination with her remains undiminished.
When it becomes all too clear that someone close to Jude means to betray her, threatening her own life and the lives of everyone she loves, Jude must uncover the traitor and fight her own complicated feelings for Cardan to maintain control as a mortal in a Faerie world.


Author Notes

Holly Black was born in West Long Branch, New Jersey on November 10, 1971. She graduated with a B.A. in English from The College of New Jersey in 1994.

Her first book, Tithe: A Modern Faerie Tale was published in 2002 and was included in the American Library Association's Best Books for Young Adults. Her other works include The Spiderwick Chronicles written with Tony DiTerlizzi, Ironside, Poison Eaters and Other Stories, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, The Iron Trial (Magisteruim Book 1) and The Copper Gauntlet (Magisteruim Book 2) written with Cassandra Clare, and The Darkest Part of the Forest. Valiant won the Andre Norton Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature. She also won the Young-Adult Prize in the Indies Choice Book Awards 2015 for The Darkest Part of the Forest.

Black and Clare's Magisterium Series has received both critical and popular acclaim appearing on numerous bestseller lists including The New York Times bestseller list in the Young Adult category.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 4

Horn Book Review

A mortal raised in the realms of Faerie by the devious General Madoc, Jude Duarte has learned to play games of politics and intrigue quite well. By manipulating her onetime nemesis, Cardan (the titular Cruel Prince of the previous book, rev. 1/18; and Wicked King of this one), onto the throne and binding his will to hers for a year and a day, Jude has bought time for her young foster brother, Oak, whom Madoc would have thrust into power and controlled from the shadows. Using all of her resourcesher spy network, her inability to be glamoured, and her innate physical and intellectual talentsJude manages to keep Cardans numerous rivals in check. The growing trust between Jude and Cardan blossoms into an unlikely romance and ultimately a clandestine marriagebut one final betrayal threatens to undo all of Judes plans. The plot itself twists, turns, and dovetails perfectly with the assured character development; in this way, Black proves herself a master storyteller writing in the tradition of Megan Whalen Turner. jonathan hunt January/February 2019 p 85(c) Copyright 2018. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Booklist Review

*Starred Review* Jude Duarte is no stranger to uneasy alliances. Raised by the man who killed her parents, a liar in a court of faeries compelled to speak only the truth, and recently betrayed, for love, by her twin sister, Jude long ago learned to keep her motivations a secret and her heart safe. In a deft play in The Cruel Prince (2018), she both allied with and manipulated Cardan, the prince she's always had a dangerous relationship with. To keep her younger brother, the heir of Faerie, safe, Jude placed Cardan on the throne instead; now she and Cardan rule together through their tenuous, volatile partnership. But Faerie is a dangerous world, and Jude has never truly belonged there. Someone is working against her, endangering her life and the lives of her family, and Jude will need every ounce of cunning and every bit of hardness she's learned to make it out intact. This second in a series neatly avoids the second-book slump; readers of the planned trilogy's first volume will be expecting plot twists, so it's even more impressive that this manages to stay one step ahead of its readers. Black expands the reaches of her brutally beautiful world and the depths of her deadly, vulnerable characters, and the employ of yet another cliff-hanger ending will leave readers agonized. A sinister, singular thrill. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Black's practically a household name, the film rights to The Cruel Prince have been sold, and the six-figure marketing campaign for this installment means that the buzz is deafening.--Maggie Reagan Copyright 2018 Booklist


School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 UP-By crowning Cardan High King of Elfame and holding him under her command for a year and a day, Jude Duarte is able to protect her brother Oak from their power-hungry father Madoc. Jude uses her ability to control Cardan and the Court of Shadows to her own advantage and to protect other mortals. As the power goes to her head and her feelings for Cardan change, Jude is warned that someone she trusts will betray her. Balekin, Cardan's murderous older brother, and Madoc both scheme to take the throne, but in the end, the worst betrayal may be the one she never expected. Caitlin Kelly captures the beauty and caprice of the fae, giving her voice an ageless quality that matches Black's richly developed world. Kelly gives Jude a strong and determined voice, but still shows Jude's youth and vulnerability. VERDICT Fans of Julie Kagawa and Melissa Marr, as well as those who enjoyed Black's other books, will want to pick up this suspenseful sequel to The Cruel Prince.-Sarah Flood, Breckinridge County Public Library, Hardinsburg, KY © Copyright 2019. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Kirkus Review

A heady blend of courtly double-crossing, Faerie lore, and toxic attraction swirls together in the sequel to The Cruel Prince (2018).Five months after engineering a coup, human teen Jude is starting to feel the strain of secretly controlling King Cardan and running his Faerie kingdom. Jude's self-loathing and anger at the traumatic events of her childhood (her Faerie "dad" killed her parents, and Faerie is not a particularly easy place even for the best-adjusted human) drive her ambition, which is tempered by her desire to make the world she loves and hates a little fairer. Much of the story revolves around plotting (the Queen of the Undersea wants the throne; Jude's Faerie father wants power; Jude's twin, Taryn, wants her Faerie betrothed by her side), but the underlying tensionsexual and politicalbetween Jude and Cardan also takes some unexpected twists. Black's writing is both contemporary and classic; her world is, at this point, intensely well-realized, so that some plot twists seem almost inevitable. Faerie is a strange place where immortal, multihued, multiformed denizens can't lie but can twist everything; Judewho can lieis an outlier, and her first-person, present-tense narration reveals more than she would choose. With curly dark brown hair, Jude and Taryn are never identified by race in human terms.A rare second volume that surpasses the first, with, happily, more intrigue and passion still to come. (map) (Fantasy. 14-adult) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.