Cover image for Unpregnant
Title:
Unpregnant
ISBN:
9780062876249
Edition:
1st ed.
Physical Description:
310 pages ; 22 cm.
General Note:
"Soon to be a movie!"--Jacket cover.
Added Author:
Summary:
Seventeen-year-old Veronica Clarke never thought she'd want to fail a test-that is, until she finds herself staring at a piece of plastic with two solid pink lines. With a promising college-bound future now disappearing before her eyes, Veronica considers a decision she never imagined she'd have to make: an abortion.There's just one catch-the closest place to get one is over nine hundred miles away. With conservative parents, a...let's say less-than-optimal boyfriend, and no car, Veronica turns to the only person she believes won't judge her: Bailey Butler, a legendary misfit at Jefferson High-and Veronica's ex-best friend.The plan is straightforward: a fourteen-hour drive to the clinic, three hours for the appointment, and a fourteen-hour drive home. What could go wrong? Not much, apart from three days of stolen cars, shot guns, crazed ex-boyfriends, aliens, ferret napping, and the pain and betrayal of a broken friendship that can't be outrun. Under the starlit skies of the American Southwest, Veronica and Bailey discover that sometimes the most important choice is who your friends are.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION HEN 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION HEN 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION HEN 0 1
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

SOON TO BE A MOVIE FROM HBO MAX!

A Top Ten YALSA 2020 Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers!

Perfect for fans of Juno and Jennifer E. Smith, Unpregnant is a heartfelt and hysterically funny YA debut about fierce friendship, reproductive rights, and the wild road to adulthood.

"Hilarious. A remarkable debut." --Stephen Chbosky, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Perks of Being a Wallflower

"A buddy road trip novel so funny, touching, and surprising, readers will forget it's also important. Honest and relatable!" --Alex Flinn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Beastly



Seventeen-year-old Veronica Clarke never thought she'd want to fail a test--that is, until she finds herself staring at a piece of plastic with two solid pink lines. With a college-bound future now disappearing before her eyes, Veronica considers a decision she never imagined she'd have to make: an abortion.



There's just one catch--the closest place to get one is over nine hundred miles away. With conservative parents, a less-than-optimal boyfriend, and no car, Veronica turns to the only person who won't judge her: Bailey Butler, a legendary misfit at Jefferson High--and Veronica's ex-best friend.

What could go wrong? Not much, apart from three days of stolen cars, crazed ex-boyfriends, aliens, ferret napping, and the betrayal of a broken friendship that can't be outrun. Under the starlit skies of the Southwest, Veronica and Bailey discover that sometimes the most important choice is who your friends are.

This breakout novel is from authors Jenni Hendriks (writer for How I Met Your Mother) and Ted Caplan (music editor for The Hate U Give).

"A stellar, timely debut." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Timely, hilarious, and heartfelt." --Kirkus (starred review)


Reviews 3

School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up--Hendricks and Caplan's debut novel tells the story of Veronica 'Ronnie' Clark, who lives a perfect life. It's her senior year and as her school's valedictorian, she's already been accepted to Brown University. She looks perfect and has the perfect relationship with the perfect boyfriend, and a trio of perfect best friends. But when the story opens, she is sitting on the toilet, in the girls' bathroom, staring at a postive pregnancy test. This is not how the last few months of school was meant to go, and she can't share this bit of imperfection with anyone. Except maybe her ex-best friend Bailey Butler, who happens to find out Ronnie's new secret. After asking for Bailey's help, Ronnie embarks on a hilarious road trip from her small town in Missouri to Albuquerque, NM to get an abortion. Though Ronnie knows this trip will ultimately change her life, she is unaware of just how much. The book does a good job of tackling serious topics like teenage pregnancy, abortion, peer pressure, and friendship with light wit and sarcasm that does not feel clichéd. Through the journey, Ronnie comes to realize what it means to be a true friend, despite her own ego, and readers will feel a kinship with both her and Bailey. VERDICT A story that effortlessly delivers difficult topics through humor and adventure, without taking away from their serious nature. It is a must read for fans of Gaby Rodriguez's The Pregnancy Project and Diablo Cody's movie Juno.--Caitlin Wilson, Meadowdale Library, North Chesterfield, VA


Publisher's Weekly Review

Veronica Clarke, 17, is on track to be valedictorian and already has an Ivy League acceptance when she unexpectedly passes another test, one whose pink lines say she's pregnant. Unfortunately, she lives in Missouri, where women under 18 need a parent's permission to get a legal abortion. In desperation, she concocts a plan to have the father, Kevin, drive her to a clinic 1,000 miles away so that she can end her pregnancy. Then she discovers that he intentionally sabotaged their birth control. For help, Ronnie turns to her former best friend, "black hole of anger and darkness" Bailey Butler. Together, they embark on a road trip for the ages, one that includes cow tipping, grand theft auto, and aliens, with Kevin in hot pursuit. The authors' background in television and film shows, with scene after hilarious scene normalizing the most serious of subjects: how far women must often go to exercise control over their own bodies. Though her desire to avoid teenage parenthood propels Ronnie to act, the trip is also one of self-discovery as she reassesses what partnership really means. A stellar, timely debut. Ages 14--up. (Sept.)


Kirkus Review

Seventeen-year-old Veronica Clarke's perfect life screeches to a halt when she discovers she is pregnant.A contender for valedictorian, she will be the first in her family to attend collegebut her boyfriend intentionally compromises their birth control, and her life is thrown into chaos. Kevin's always been "intense," but Veronica and her straight-laced, straight-A friends thought it was romantic...until he proposes marriage rather than supports her plan to get an abortion. Veronica's seen the impact of young motherhood on her sister and knows it's not the right choice for her, but the nearest abortion clinic that serves minors without parental consent is nearly a thousand miles away, in Albuquerque. If Kevin won't take her, who will? Enter Bailey: Veronica's former best friend, high school loner, and, perhaps most importantly, owner of a car. A stilted transaction between frenemies soon becomes a whirlwind road trip. Both entertaining and educational, the novel contains detailed descriptions of Veronica's abortion research, phone call to Planned Parenthood, and time at the clinic, which demystify abortion and build empathy for those who make that choice. Instead of centering the decision itself, Veronica's narrative emphasizes the situational and emotional hurdles keeping her from what she knows she wants. All main characters are assumed white, and a diversity of experience is evident in characters' socio-economic class and sexuality.Timely, hilarious, and heartfelt. (Fiction. 14-18) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.