Cover image for The other Mrs. : a novel
Title:
The other Mrs. : a novel
ISBN:
9780778369110
Physical Description:
359 pages ; 24 cm.
Geographic Term:
Summary:
Sadie and Will Foust have only just moved their family from bustling Chicago to small-town Maine when their neighbor Morgan Baines is found dead in her home. The murder rocks their tiny coastal island, but no one is more shaken than Sadie. But it's not just Morgan's death that has Sadie on edge. And as the eyes of suspicion turn toward the new family in town, Sadie is drawn deeper into the mystery of what really happened that dark and deadly night. But Sadie must be careful, for the more she discovers about Mrs. Baines, the more she begins to realize just how much she has to lose if the truth ever comes to light.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book FICTION KUB 0 2
Searching...
Searching...
Book FICTION KUB 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book FICTION KUB 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book FICTION KUB 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book FICTION KUB 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book FICTION KUB 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book FICTION KUB 0 1
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Coming to Netflix!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED BY ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY · PEOPLE MAGAZINE · MARIE CLAIRE · HUFFINGTON POST · POPSUGAR · BUSTLE · SHEREADS · BOOK RIOT · HELLOGIGGLES · GOODREADS · WORTH · CHATELAINE

Propulsive and addictive, and perfect for fans of "You," The Other Mrs. is the twisty new psychological thriller from Mary Kubica, the New York Times bestselling author of The Good Girl

Sadie and Will Foust have only just moved their family from bustling Chicago to small-town Maine when their neighbor Morgan Baines is found dead in her home. The murder rocks their tiny coastal island, but no one is more shaken than Sadie.

But it's not just Morgan's death that has Sadie on edge. And as the eyes of suspicion turn toward the new family in town, Sadie is drawn deeper into the mystery of what really happened that dark and deadly night. But Sadie must be careful, for the more she discovers about Mrs. Baines, the more she begins to realize just how much she has to lose if the truth ever comes to light.

"Altogether unpredictable." --Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author

"Brilliant!" --Liv Constantine, bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish

"Kubica's best book yet." --Sarah Pekkanen, #1 New York Times bestselling co-author of An Anonymous Girl

Look for these other pulse-pounding thrillers by New York Times bestselling author Mary Kubica:
The Good Girl
Pretty Baby
Don't You Cry
Every Last Lie
When the Lights Go Out


Author Notes

Mary Kubica is a New York bestselling author. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in History and American Literature from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio. Her novels include; Don't You Cry, Pretty Baby and The Good Girl.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 4

Publisher's Weekly Review

In this convoluted psychological thriller from bestseller Kubica (When the Lights Go Out), physician Sadie Foust and her professor husband, Will, have inherited his sister Alice's house, on an island off the coast of Maine, after Alice's apparent suicide. They have also agreed to accept guardianship for Alice's understandably troubled 16-year-old daughter, Imogen. Despite the tragedy, Sadie sees a chance for a new start with Will and their two boys, 14-year-old Otto and seven-year-old Tate. She would like to move past Will's affair, as well as an alarming school incident with Otto and a mistake that forced her to resign from her former position in Chicago. However, Imogen's increasingly threatening behavior causes tension among the family, and the murder of a neighbor's new wife throws their lives into a tailspin when Sadie becomes a suspect. Red herrings litter the multiple narratives, adding too much weight to an already overloaded plot, and a soapy twist disappoints. Hopefully, this is a temporary slump for the talented Kubica. Agent: Rachael Dillon Fried, Sanford J. Greenburger Assoc. (Feb.)


Kirkus Review

A fresh start for a doctor and her family becomes a living nightmare in Kubica's (When the Lights Go Out, 2018, etc.) new psychological thriller.Human ecology professor Will Foust and his wife, Sadie, a doctor, have two boys, 14-year-old Otto and 7-year-old Tate. On the outside, they look like the perfect family. After Will's sister, Alice, dies from an apparent suicide, Sadie hopes that she and Will can provide stability for Alice's 16-year-old daughter, Imogen. They've also decided to leave Chicago and move into Alice's home on a small island off the coast of Maine, which Will has inherited. Unfortunately, Sadie, who used to practice emergency medicine, finds no satisfaction in her work at a local clinic; Otto is starting to show signs of the problems Sadie hoped he'd left behind; and though she understands that Imogen is devastated in the wake of her mother's death, the girl is behaving in a downright alarming way, including gleefully showing Sadie a picture she took of her mother as she hung from the attic rafters. Sadie also thinks Will might be cheating on her. Again. The family tension stretches to a breaking point when a neighbor woman (whom Sadie thinks Will has been cozying up to) is stabbed to death. It's not long before Sadie finds herself at the center of a murder investigation. Kubica ably molds Sadie into a (very) complicated woman with simmering secrets; as usual, she is a master of atmospherics who can turn almost any location into a swirling cesspool of creepy possibility. However, in a story told from multiple perspectivesfirst person and otherwisea few are less compelling than others, such as that of over-the-top Camille, who claims to be having an affair with Will. And while Kubica sprinkles in a few clues about the big twist, she still asks readers to suspend disbelief to the breaking point.A page-turner that doesn't quite stick the landing. Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

Here's another engrossing domestic thriller (following When the Lights Go Out, 2018) from the New York Times best-selling Kubica. Sadie and Will Foust move with their two sons from Chicago to a small island off the coast of Maine to care for their niece, Imogen, after Will's sister commits suicide. The unsettling goth girl proves to be a handful, and the creepy old house and island folk are unwelcoming. After their neighbor Morgan is murdered, Sadie becomes a suspect, and she, in turn, becomes suspicious of her husband. Everyone is talking about how close he and Morgan had become. Sadie has reason to question Will's fidelity, but she also begins to doubt her own sanity. The story unfolds in three deeply sad female voices that sweep readers up in the dramas and secrets, past and present, that seal the fate of each character. The resilience displayed by the survivors in their new lives seems a bit strained, but most readers will be happy to see at least some of the characters getting a fresh start.--Jane Murphy Copyright 2019 Booklist


Library Journal Review

Having moved from Chicago to a Maine island when her husband inherits a house from his sister, Sadie has plenty of reasons to worry, not least of which is the murder of a neighbor. The house is creepy and creaky, her teenage niece Imogen is dark and disturbed, and townsfolk suspicious of the newcomers. With a 200,000-copy first printing; Netflix grabbed the TV/film rights in an overnight preempt.