Cover image for Sea witch
Title:
Sea witch
ISBN:
9780062438805
Edition:
1st paperback ed.
Physical Description:
348, 9 pages ; 21 cm.
Summary:
Ever since her best friend Anna died, Evie has been an outcast in her small fishing town. Hiding her talents, mourning her loss, drowning in her guilt. Then a girl with an uncanny resemblance to Anna appears on the shore, and the two girls catch the eyes of two charming princes. Suddenly Evie feels like she might finally have a chance at her own happily ever after. But magic isn?t kind, and her new friend harbors secrets of her own. She can?t stay in Havnestad?or on two legs?without Evie?s help. And when Evie reaches deep into the power of her magic to save her friend?s humanity?and her prince?s heart?she discovers, too late, what she?s bargained away.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION HEN 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION HEN 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION HEN 1 1
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Wicked meets "The Little Mermaid" in the captivating origin story of the sea's most iconic villainess, perfect for fans of Heartless and Dorothy Must Die.

Ever since her best friend Anna died, Evie has been an outcast in her small fishing town. Hiding her talents, mourning her loss, drowning in her guilt.

Then a girl with an uncanny resemblance to Anna appears on the shore, and the two girls catch the eyes of two charming princes. Suddenly Evie feels like she might finally have a chance at her own happily ever after.

But magic isn't kind, and her new friend harbors secrets of her own. She can't stay in Havnestad--or on two legs--without Evie's help. And when Evie reaches deep into the power of her magic to save her friend's humanity--and her prince's heart--she discovers, too late, what she's bargained away.


Reviews 4

School Library Journal Review

Gr 7 Up-This prequel to "The Little Mermaid" opens with a prologue in which two girls and a boy are playing and tragedy strikes. Years later, the story continues with Evie, who is secretly a witch, and her best friend Crown Prince Nik, who is celebrating his 16th birthday with an extravagant party aboard a ship. A storm brews, and Nik is thrown overboard and almost dies; but he is saved by someone with a beautiful singing voice. Flashbacks show readers that the duo was once a trio. Anna, the third friend, had tragically drowned four years earlier, and her body was never recovered. Evie meets a mysterious girl who showed up on shore, who looks and sounds like Anna but calls herself Annemette. This young woman is a mermaid, was responsible for saving Nik from drowning, and insists that she is not Anna. She is able to take on human form for four days and can live as a human forever if she secures true love's kiss in this time. Evie vows to help and keep her secret, and Annemette will keep Evie's magic powers a secret, as well. It will become apparent to readers where the characters' hearts' desires are pointing them, especially as big twists play out. Some Norse terminology and mythology are interwoven and help create a vivid setting. The ending feels a bit rushed and the closing action happens quickly, but romance and fantasy fans won't mind. VERDICT This enjoyable read will entertain and be a great fit for collections where fairy-tale retellings are popular.-Megan Huenemann, Norris High School, Firth, NE © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publisher's Weekly Review

Deftly transforming a fairy tale into a richly layered exploration of culture and relationships, Henning tells the origin story of the Sea Witch from Hans Christian Andersen's "The Little Mermaid." Sixteen-year-old Evie is a child of Havnestad, a Danish fishing town, and of the sea, but she also possesses a dark secret that could see her killed by her own people. After the death of their mutual best friend, Anna, Evie and the crown prince, Nik, forge a friendship, which is tested daily by public judgment as well as their private pain from the loss of Anna. Evie finds welcome escape from her grief with Iker, Nik's cousin, a crown prince in his own right and the young man who has captured her heart. Then Annemette, a mysterious young woman, arrives in the kingdom and quickly fills the role that Anna previously held in Evie and Nik's lives. Exquisitely detailed examinations of Danish seaside traditions lend gravitas to a debut novel rooted in the sea and its mercurial moods. A focus on Evie's internal monologue and romantic attachments unfortunately overshadows the subtly nuanced explorations of magic and its uses, but readers who persevere will be rewarded with richly woven threads of fairy tale allusions and a surprising ending. Ages 13-up. Agent: Rachel Ekstrom, Folio Literary Management. (July) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Kirkus Review

A retelling of "The Little Mermaid" from the point of view of the other woman.Evie's a fisherman's daughter, a secret witch, and the best friend of Crown Prince Asger Niklas Bryniulf ldenburg III of the Kingdom of Havnestadjust plain Nik to her. Her world is an alternate 19th-century Denmark, in a tiny kingdom composed of a single fishing village, where she's a black-haired, half-Italian girl among the mostly blond Danes. Four years ago, Nik and Evie lost their beloved friend Anna to the ocean. Nowhis royalty, her poverty, and the disapproval of Havnestad notwithstandingthey continue their friendship as they teeter on the cusp of adulthood. When Nik nearly drowns, he's rescued by a girl who looks just like Anna, but he's unconscious; only Evie sees the girl. Is the rescuer a mermaid? And is she the same person as Annemette, the lovely blonde who suddenly appears in town as if from nowhere? Regardless, Annemette and Evie become the dearest of friends almost immediately. Foreboding warnings about crossing class boundaries and burning witches foreshadow a dark and unexpected twist at novel's climax. Overly stylized prose, especially in the occasional third-person perspective chapters, slow the action with their forced poetic style.Readers who gobble up every watery paranormal story will certainly enjoy this angst-drenched tale of forbidden love, but everyone else should stay on dry land. (Fantasy. 12-15) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

Evie, Anna, and Nik were inseparable, no matter that Nik was a prince, Anna a noble, and Evie a poor villager. But then Anna drowned, and even Evie, who possessed magic she hid even from her dearest friends, couldn't save her. Evie and Nik are still close, even though the other villagers ostracize Evie for acting above her station. When Nik almost drowns, Evie catches a glimpse of his supernatural rescuer. At first, she doesn't believe her eyes she may be a witch, but surely there's no such thing as mermaids but then a mysterious girl who bears a striking resemblance to Anna appears in the village, desperate to see Nik. As Evie agrees to help her, she starts to wonder if her friend really did drown all those years ago, or if she became something else. Though the characters and dialogue are sometimes more old-fashioned and other times more modern, this spin on The Little Mermaid is full of plot twists and heart-in-throat action. Fans of twisted fairy tales will find plenty to love.--Reagan, Maggie Copyright 2018 Booklist