Cover image for Infinity son
Title:
Infinity son
ISBN:
9780062457820
Edition:
First edition.
Physical Description:
355 pages ; 22 cm.
Reading Level:
Ages 14 up. HarperTeen.

Grades 10-12. HarperTeen.
Summary:
"In a world where some people are born with powers and some people take them, brothers Emil and Brighton Rey get swept up in a supernatural turf war generations in the making"--
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION SIL 1 1
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Balancing epic and intensely personal stakes, bestselling author Adam Silvera's Infinity Son is a gritty, fast-paced adventure about two brothers caught up in a magical war generations in the making.

Growing up in New York, brothers Emil and Brighton always idolized the Spell Walkers--a vigilante group sworn to rid the world of specters. While the Spell Walkers and other celestials are born with powers, specters take them, violently stealing the essence of endangered magical creatures.

Brighton wishes he had a power so he could join the fray. Emil just wants the fighting to stop. The cycle of violence has taken a toll, making it harder for anyone with a power to live peacefully and openly. In this climate of fear, a gang of specters has been growing bolder by the day.

Then, in a brawl after a protest, Emil manifests a power of his own--one that puts him right at the heart of the conflict and sets him up to be the heroic Spell Walker Brighton always wanted to be.

Brotherhood, love, and loyalty will be put to the test, and no one will escape the fight unscathed.


Reviews 4

School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up--In a departure from contemporary fiction, Silvera has created an exciting fantasy series opener about two very different Latinx twin brothers. Brighton, vlogger and superhero fan, hopes he'll evince celestial powers on his 18th birthday. His queer, fantasy-loving brother Emil prays they don't materialize in him. In this Bronx setting, where phoenixes are reborn and hydra and ghosts exist, celestial Spell Walker heroes battle evil alchemist Blood Casters. Both sides include a handful of young people with unique magical abilities. Villainous specters steal blood from celestials to re-create their power. Enforcers hunt down both specters and Blood Casters. Spell Walkers aren't universally loved and are being persecuted, particularly by presidential nominee Senator Irons. He holds Maribelle and the Spell Walkers responsible for the deaths of his wife and son. In a twist on the Chosen One trope, it's Emil's powers, not Brighton's, that manifest, but they're specter powers, not celestial. Brighton is jealous and vows to prove himself worthy, too. Bloodthirsty Luna, the Blood Casters' leader, seeks legendary Reaper's Blood to try to achieve immortality, as the Spell Walkers try to stop her. Despite the book's many characters, it's easy to keep everyone straight. Four characters narrate different chapters, allowing readers access to multiple points of view. VERDICT Fans of Cassandra Clare, Mackenzie Lee's Loki, Brandon Sanderson's Steelheart, Kiersten White's Slayer and Marissa Meyer's "Renegades" series will love this magical book that embodies it all: romance, heartbreak, deceit, shifting loyalties, revenge, power struggles, violence, and complicated origin stories.--Sharon Rawlins, New Jersey State Library, Trenton


Publisher's Weekly Review

Twin brothers are caught up in a war between two magically imbued factions in this ambitious yet muddled urban fantasy. In an alternate New York City, magic-wielding celestials have fallen out of public favor, though two kinds remain. Heroically inclined Spell Walkers, who seek to defend celestials, and Blood Casters, who steal their magic from mythical creatures. Latinx brothers Emil and Brighton Rey, 18, have always dreamed of manifesting powers. When Emil develops phoenix-based abilities, both Reys find refuge with the Spell Walkers, where they're drawn into the group's ongoing struggle for social justice. But they must thwart the Blood Casters' plan to achieve immortality, a dangerous gambit that could shift the city's power balance. Silvera (What If It's Us) intertwines the brothers' alternating narrative with superpowers, comic book--style action, and mythology, grounding the twins' story in Brighton's vlogging ambitions and Emil's newfound celebrity. Though uneven worldbuilding sometimes keeps the story's components from fully cohering, fans of Silvera's inclusive casts and interpersonal dynamics are likely to be pleased. Ages 12--up. Agency: The Bent Agency; translation rights, Janklow & Nesbit Assoc. (Jan.)


Kirkus Review

Magic goes viral in Silvera's (contributor: Color Outside the Lines, 2019, etc.) fantasy debut. But can it win a war?For brothers Brighton and Emil, their 18th birthday is "off to a rough start." The two dream of being celestials (people with magic abilities) but are reminded yet again that they're "painfully ordinary." Or are they? When potions dealers attack the brothers, Emil discovers that he has phoenix fire within. Brighton uploads a video of the fight online, propelling Emilwhom the celestial-obsessed dub "Fire-Wing"to superstardom. The brothers find themselves caught in the crossfire between the heroic Spell Walkers, who fight for the end of celestial persecution, and the power-hungry Blood Casters, who gain magic by stealing it from creatures. With its raw, complex characters, Silvera's latest packs his signature high-stakes emotionalism alongside a politically charged premise. The alternate New York City setting mixes current tech (e.g., virtual reality and Instagram) with magical tech (e.g., wands and gem-grenades) to create a richly contemporary urban landscape. Though Silvera mostly switches between Emil's and Brighton's strong, first person, present-tense narration, the perspectives of a Spell Walker and a Blood Caster are also magnified. The cast primarily consists of people of color, several of whom are also queer (including Emil, who is gay).A bright spark of a promising series. (Fantasy. 12-adult) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

Eighteen-year-old twins Emil and Brighton live in a New York City where celestials people with inherent magic and specters those who gain powers by imbibing the blood of magical creatures coexist with regular humans. When Emil's latent phoenix powers emerge, he and his brother get caught up in a celestial-versus-specter gang war with major political implications. Emil wants no part of his new magic, while power-hungry Brighton (a YouTuber obsessed with celestials) thinks it should have been his. Silvera's (They Both Die at the End, 2017) first foray into fantasy takes clear cues from his proclaimed inspirations, Cassandra Clare's City of Bones (2007) and the X-Men franchise, but as this is a largely character-driven novel, his world building feels incomplete. And while awkward pacing sometimes detracts from the ample action, the ideas are compelling enough, and Emil is such a sympathetic hero that readers will have no problem following him to the cliff-hanger ending. Silvera fans will inhale this first installment, which serves the fantasy genre well through a relatable queer, Latinx hero and other strong representation.--Ronny Khuri Copyright 2019 Booklist