Cover image for The Athena protocol
Title:
The Athena protocol
ISBN:
9780062849601
Edition:
1st ed.
Physical Description:
295 pages ; 22 cm.
Genre:
Summary:
Jessie Archer is a member of the Athena Protocol, an elite organization of female spies who enact vigilante justice around the world. Athena operatives are never supposed to shoot to kill--so when Jessie can't stop herself from pulling the trigger, she gets kicked out of the organization, right before a huge mission to take down a human trafficker in Belgrade. Jessie needs to right her wrong and prove herself, so she starts her own investigation into the trafficking. But going rogue means she has no one to watch her back as she delves into the horrors she uncovers. Meanwhile, her former teammates have been ordered to bring her down. Jessie must face danger from all sides if she's to complete her mission--and survive. --
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION SAR 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION SAR 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION SAR 0 1
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Bourne Identity meets Karen McManus in this action-packed series opener about a spy gone rogue, perfect for fans of Ally Carter and Killing Eve.

Jessie Archer is a member of the Athena Protocol, an elite organization of female spies who enact vigilante justice around the world.

Athena operatives are never supposed to shoot to kill--so when Jessie can't stop herself from pulling the trigger, she gets kicked out of the organization, right before a huge mission to take down a human trafficker in Belgrade.

Jessie needs to right her wrong and prove herself, so she starts her own investigation into the trafficking. But going rogue means she has no one to watch her back as she delves into the horrors she uncovers. Meanwhile, her former teammates have been ordered to bring her down. Jessie must face danger from all sides if she's to complete her mission--and survive.

Don't miss this gripping page-turner that New York Times bestselling author Patrick Ness called "a ferocious, take-no-prisoners thriller that actually thrills!"


Reviews 4

School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up--Jessie Archer works for Athena, a top-secret rogue organization made up of a few very talented female vigilantes. Their mission is to put a stop to some of the horrible things going on in the world that government organizations like the CIA or MI5 can't or won't handle. Stopping human traffickers is at the top of their list. When Jessie breaks protocol on one of their missions, she's fired for coming too close to exposing Athena. But when she realizes their next mission might put her mother in danger, she uses the skills she learned at Athena to work covertly on the mission behind the scenes. She targets the beautiful daughter of the trafficker Athena is trying to stop, but soon her feelings for the glamorous Paulina begin to complicate everything. While she's working to help her former teammates, they are relentlessly trying to stop her, making for lots of edge-of-your-seat moments. A perfectly paced plot and girls with brains and Mission Impossible--style moves make this a highly engaging thriller. VERDICT A breathlessly cinematic series opener and a fun first purchase for high school and YA collections.--Mandy Laferriere, Fowler Middle School, Frisco, TX


Publisher's Weekly Review

Athena, a secret, unsanctioned organization that protects women and children internationally, was founded by Chinese tech tycoon Li Chen, African-American former ambassador Peggy Delaney, and retired white British musician Kit Love. Protocol dictates that its agents eschew bloodshed, but after Jessie Archer, 18, helps her fellow operatives free 50 young women from a cage in Cameroon and then realizes that their captor will serve little time, she kills him. The team flees, but the incident attracts media attention, prompting Athena to fire Jessie--an especially devastating decision, given that Kit is Jessie's mother. Jessie refuses to stay sidelined, however, particularly after she learns that Kit will serve as bait in an operation a targeting human trafficker Gregory Pavlic. Tailing Athena to Serbia, Jessie launches a solo investigation that proves far more difficult and dangerous than anticipated; she also becomes attracted to Pavlic's daughter. First in a planned series, filmmaker Sarif's YA debut compensates for a thin premise with an inclusive cast, ample action, and escalating stakes. Some underdeveloped secondary characters lessen the interpersonal conflicts' heft and verisimilitude, but Jessie's conflicted attraction rings true, and a gratifying conclusion hints at emotional complexities to come. Ages 14--up. (Oct.)


Kirkus Review

A group of female spies enacts justice for exploited women around the world.Jessie Archer, a white British woman, works for Athena, a female-led London-based secret division of global corporation Chen Technologies, helping to covertly take down crime lords who traffic and kidnap women and children. When a high-tension mission goes awry, Jessie is taunted by a warlord, who says his capture will be a temporary stay. She kills him, endangering Athena's secrecy, and is subsequently kicked off the team right as they are departing for Belgrade for an operation. As part of the intelligence-gathering effort for the operation, Jessie is frustrated by her termination, and, stuck at home and bored, she breaks into Athena's servers, discovering leads to Paulina Pavlic, the alluring daughter of the trafficker Athena is targeting. Jessie's feelings for Paulina are further complicated by the discovery of even more nefarious goings-on as well as information that endangers both her and the Athena team. Meanwhile, Athena agents are given a directive to bring Jessie in. This riveting, female-centered romp includes diverse charactersAfrican American, Palestinian, South Asian Britishwho have layered and complex backstories. Li Chen, founder of Chen Technologies, survived the Cultural Revolution. Jessie examines her privilege with occasional flippant snark and questions global power dynamics and the treatment of women around the world. Jessie is a lesbian, and some other characters are queer. Thrillingly representative female empowerment. (Thriller. 14-18) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

Athena agents, though elite and highly trained, aren't exactly government approved. There are only three of them in the field: Jessie Archer works with her two fellow operatives to unleash vigilante-style justice against human traffickers, crime lords, and others who enact violence against women around the world. Athena operatives always have orders to capture, not kill, and when one mark taunts Jessie into pulling a fatal trigger, she's permanently removed from her team. But there's a mission against a major human trafficker coming up, and Jessie's determined to be involved whether they'll have her or not. As she begins her rogue investigation, she has to avoid both the people she's investigating and the Athena agents working in parallel to her, and she begins a dangerous relationship with the daughter of the trafficker, one that she's only partially in control of. Led by and centered on women, this high-octane thriller features a well-developed cast with distinct, varied backgrounds. An explosively exciting story that shines a light on the treatment, mistreatment, and unity of women across the globe.--Maggie Reagan Copyright 2010 Booklist