Cover image for Veiled in smoke
Title:
Veiled in smoke
ISBN:
9780764233302
Physical Description:
412 pages ; 22 cm.
Geographic Term:
Summary:
Meg and Sylvie Townsend manage the family bookshop and care for their father, Stephen, a veteran still suffering in mind and spirit from his time as a POW during the Civil War. But when the Great Fire sweeps through Chicago's business district, they lose much more than just their store. The sisters become separated from their father and make a harrowing escape from the flames with the help of Chicago Tribune reporter Nate Pierce. Once the smoke clears away, they reunite with Stephen, only to learn soon after that their family friend was murdered on the night of the fire. Even more shocking, Stephen is charged with the crime and committed to the Cook County Insane Asylum. Though homeless and suddenly unemployed, Meg must not only gather the pieces of her shattered life, but prove her father's innocence before the asylum truly drives him mad.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book FICTION GRE 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book FICTION GRE 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book FICTION GRE 0 1
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Meg and Sylvie Townsend manage the family bookshop and care for their father, Stephen, a veteran still suffering in mind and spirit from his time as a POW during the Civil War. But when the Great Fire sweeps through Chicago's business district, they lose much more than just their store.

The sisters become separated from their father and make a harrowing escape from the flames with the help of Chicago Tribune reporter Nate Pierce. Once the smoke clears away, they reunite with Stephen, only to learn soon after that their family friend was murdered on the night of the fire. Even more shocking, Stephen is charged with the crime and committed to the Cook County Insane Asylum.

Though homeless and suddenly unemployed, Meg must not only gather the pieces of her shattered life, but prove her father's innocence before the asylum truly drives him mad.


Author Notes

Jocelyn Green is the award-winning and bestselling author of numerous fiction and nonfiction books, including The Mark of the King , A Refuge Assured , and Between Two Shores . Her books have garnered starred reviews from Booklist and Publishers Weekly and have been honored with the Christy Award and the Golden Scroll. Jocelyn lives with her family in Cedar Falls, Iowa. Visit her at www.jocelyngreen.com.


Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

Christy Award--winner Green (Between Two Shores) sets this tumultuous, affecting tale against the backdrop of the Great Chicago Fire of 1871. Meg Townsend's father, Stephen, hasn't been the same since he was released from a prison camp during the Civil War. He patrols their roof, determined to protect his family from dangers that only exist in his mind. Hiram Sloane is Stephen's only friend, who also acts as a benevolent uncle to Meg and her sister, Sylvie. When the fire strikes, the family's home and bookstore are destroyed, Meg's hands get badly burned, and Hiram is found murdered and Stephen is charged with the crime. Meg is devastated when her father is committed to an asylum, where he is diagnosed with "Soldier's Heart" (today known as PTSD). Soon Meg enlists the help of Chicago Tribune reporter Nate Pierce to help her discover the truth about her father's involvement in Hiram's murder. Meanwhile, Sylvie develops feelings for Hiram's grandnephew Jasper Davenport, who shows the suddenly homeless sisters nothing but kindness. As Nate and Meg become closer and Jasper appears to be hiding a dark past, Green engagingly weaves subtle faith elements into the mystery and romance. Fans of Lisa Wingate will enjoy this. (Jan.)


Booklist Review

Meg Townsend is a gifted artist who sells her paintings in the family bookstore in Chicago run by her sister, Sylvie. Their father, Stephen, who suffers from soldier's heart (PTSD) after being held in a prisoner of war camp, Andersonville, during the Civil War, spends the nights patrolling their roof and his days mapping out Andersonville n their yard. They come in contact with Chicago Tribune reporter Nate Pierce when he writes a series of articles about war heroes. When the Great Fire sweeps through Chicago, their home and business are destroyed, and the girls become separated from their father. When they find Stephen days later, he is accused of murdering a family friend, Hiram Sloane, and is sentenced to the Cook County Insane Asylum. Meg asks for Nate's help in clearing her father's name, while Sylvie develops feelings for Hiram's nephew, Jasper, who may know more than he's telling about his uncle's death. History, mystery, romance, and faith combine in the first book in the Christy Award-winning Green's Windy City Saga. Recommend to readers who enjoy Lisa Wingate and Elizabeth Camden.--C. L. Quillen Copyright 2020 Booklist