Cover image for Jane against the world : Roe v. Wade and the fight for reproductive rights
Title:
Jane against the world : Roe v. Wade and the fight for reproductive rights
ISBN:
9781626721654
Edition:
1st ed.
Physical Description:
385 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
Contents:
Restrictions -- Reform -- Roe v. Wade -- After Roe.
Summary:
A history of the fight for reproductive rights in the United States. Tracing the path to the landmark decision in Roe v. Wade and the continuing battle for women's rights, Blumenthal examines the root causes of the current debate around abortion and repercussions that have affected generations of American women. This book intends to facilitate difficult discussions and awareness of a topic that is rarely touched on in school but affects each and every young person. Includes a glossary of legal and medical terms, timeline, and information about significant Supreme Court cases.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book 342.730878 BLU 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book 342.730878 BLU 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book 342.730878 BLU 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book XX(480306.2) 0 1
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

From award-winning author Karen Blumenthal, comes a deep and passionate look at the riveting history of the fight for reproductive rights in the United States.Tracing the path to the landmark decision in Roe v. Wade and the continuing battle for women's rights, Blumenthal examines, in a straightforward tone, the root causes of the current debate around abortion and repercussions that have affected generations of American women. This eye-opening book is the perfect tool to facilitate difficult discussions and awareness of a topic that is rarely touched on in school but affects each and every young person. It's also perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin and Deborah Heiligman.This journalistic look at the history of abortion and the landmark case of Roe v. Wade is an important and necessary book.


Author Notes

Karen Blumenthal is an award-winning children's nonfiction writer and a long-time journalist. Her book Bootleg: Murder, Moonshine, and the Lawless Years of Prohibition received four starred reviews and was a finalist for the YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults Award. Later, Six Days in October: The Stock Market Crash of 1929, was named a Sibert Honor Book, and Let Me Play: The Story of Title IX, won a Jane Addams Children's Book Award. Karen's recent book, Tommy: The Gun That Changed America, explores the history and controversy of the famous and deadly Tommy gun. She lives in Dallas, Texas.


Reviews 5

School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up--Blumenthal provides a forthright deep dive into the history of reproductive rights from the 1800s until modern times. She relays details about the legal cases that helped change the way women could make choices about their bodies. Readers will gain a deeper understanding of the history of women's health and also obtain insight into the lives of the women who braved it all. The author discusses exactly how limiting reproductive rights impacted women of color and women living in poverty, including information about the horrors of forced sterilization. The more sordid histories of some reproductive rights advocates are also not glossed over, such as Margaret Sanger's support for eugenics. Short vignettes cover a fact, person, or short history previously mentioned in the chapter. The closer looks at statistics, time lines, and injustices flow with the overall narrative structure. Photographs put faces to the names of those mentioned. A glossary of legal and medical terms, a time line of events, a list of significant Supreme Court cases on abortion and reproductive rights, a bibliography, and an extensive list of source notes round out this methodically researched work. VERDICT An excellent purchase for public and high school nonfiction collections.--Molly Dettmann, Norman North High School, OK


Publisher's Weekly Review

In comprehensive detail, Blumenthal (Bonnie and Clyde) traces the complicated battle for reproductive rights in the U.S. from the late 1830s to today's continued challenges. The centerpiece of the book is a scene-by-scene exposition of both hearings by the Supreme Court of the landmark Roe v. Wade case, in which Blumenthal sensitively illuminates the Supreme Court Justices' struggles with the moral, medical, and legal aspects of abortion. The author also brings to life key figures in many arenas, including women faced with unwanted pregnancies who agreed (sometimes anonymously) to enter the legal fray, as well as doctors, clergy, and lawyers who actively helped or hindered either side. Closing chapters, entitled "Pushback: 1992--2000" and "Restrictions 2000-2016," and the epilogue note the many ways in which reproductive rights continue to be vigorously contested. Written in clear, accessible language, as lively as it is thorough, the book presents the issue as far more nuanced and complex than the often sharply divided "pro-choice" and "pro-life" stances it is often boiled down to. Extensive back matter includes a glossary, timeline, wide-ranging bibliography, and notes. Ages 12--up. (Feb.)■


Horn Book Review

Multiple legal, social, religious, and medical strands comprise the history of reproductive rights in America. Blumenthal, in her trademark straightforward journalistic style (Tommy: The Gun That Changed America, rev. 7/15; Bonnie and Clyde, rev. 1/19), creates a narrative that not only presents a comprehensible overview of the facts but also establishes the historical culture in which those facts existed. Blumenthal incorporates well-chosen case studies and numerous sidebars (each unfortunately titled a Pregnant Pause)such as charts reporting the historic trend of deaths related to abortion or the changing positions of major religious groups. These reveal the misogyny (until the midpoint of the twentieth century, unmarried women could not legally buy contraceptives); racism (women of color were often sterilized without their knowledge); and classism (overwhelmingly white, financially stable women were, and are, able to get abortions) that influenced the issue of unwanted pregnancies for a century and a half. In addition, she outlines the unexpected consequences, including social pressures, mass media coverage, and death, that some women faced when trying to obtain abortions before the Supreme Court ruled on Roe v. Wade, as well as the limits that have been imposed on the law since the 1973 decision. Blumenthals impeccable research is revealed in the extensive back matter (including documentation, a subject bibliography, a timeline, and a glossary) that completes this compelling book. Betty Carter March/April 2020 p.98(c) Copyright 2020. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Kirkus Review

An account of the tumultuous struggle for abortion rights in the United States. Blumenthal kicks off her narrative with a thrillerworthy scene: the 1972 raid by Chicago police on the eponymous "Jane," an underground abortion referral service. The book then pulls back to offer an engaging history of developments in reproductive rights that contributed to the landmark Roe v. Wade Supreme Court decision. Along the way there are brief biographies of key figures--some as famous (or infamous) as Anthony Comstock and Margaret Sanger, some virtually unknown but no less fascinating--placed within a nuanced context and punctuated by "Pregnant Pause[s]": occasionally humorous, sometimes infuriating, often poignant sketches detailing the history of biological knowledge, birth control techniques, legal issues, popular opinion, and religious proclamations. A deep dive into the circumstances, personalities, deliberations, and compromises involved in Roe v. Wade (along with the frequently overlooked companion cases) takes up a dozen chapters, followed by a brief consideration of the consequences, backlash, and steady succession of laws and court cases chipping away at the decision. An epilogue brings the discussion up to the appointment of Justices Neil Gorsuch and Brett Kavanaugh. Blumenthal's bibliography demonstrates the depth of her research, including online, archival, and primary sources. This riveting book, enhanced by historical photographs, also addresses racial bias, the eugenics movement, and other critical related subjects. Gripping reading; necessary for every library serving teens. (glossary, timeline, significant Supreme Court cases, bibliography, notes) (Nonfiction. 12-18) Copyright (c) Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

Though it doesn't seem like a radical thought, a woman's right to decide what happens to her own body, her pregnancy, and her reproductive organs has been a centuries-long debate in the U.S. In her latest work of nonfiction for young adults, Sibert-nominated Blumenthal (Six Days in October, 2002) plunges headfirst into the murky waters surrounding not just the complex history of the Roe v. Wade landmark case, but of the century in American history that led to the ruling. In measured but powerful chapters, she lays out the facts, diving into the restrictions--and shady medical practices--surrounding not only abortion but birth control, sterilization, and sexual education. In highlighting key figures, Blumenthal is clear to distinguish important work from darker histories--she doesn't leave out Margaret Sanger's association with the eugenics movement--offering a full picture of a complicated issue. She lingers, too, on the uneasy future of Roe v. Wade, a decision that was once thought to be the final word on the subject. But what makes this book a cut above is her enduring recognition that reproductive rights restrictions have always been a way for people in power to further racist, classist agendas. Thoroughly sourced and accompanied by black-and-white photos and "Pregnant Pause" sidebars, this essential guide, which gives voices to vulnerable populations, demands to be heard.


Table of Contents

Prologue Janep. 3
Part I Restrictionsp. 8
Madame Restellp. 11
Margaret Sangerp. 29
A Crimep. 39
Sherri Chessenp. 53
Estelle Griswoldp. 63
Part II Reformp. 78
Clergyp. 81
Right to Lifep. 93
Repealp. 107
Courtsp. 125
Jane Roep. 139
Jane Hodgsonp. 149
Federal Courtp. 157
Janep. 165
Part III Roe v. Wadep. 176
Appealp. 179
Briefsp. 189
Oyez, Oyez, Oyezp. 201
Deliberationsp. 217
Roe, Againp. 235
Opinionsp. 245
The Decisionp. 257
Part IV After Roep. 272
Politicsp. 275
The Supreme Court, Againp. 279
Pushbackp. 293
Restrictionsp. 301
Epiloguep. 311
Glossary of Legal and Medical Termsp. 319
Timelinep. 323
Significant Supreme Court Cases on Abortion and Reproductive Rightsp. 327
Acknowledgmentsp. 331
Bibliographyp. 333
Notesp. 345
Photo Creditsp. 367
Indexp. 369