Cover image for We unleash the merciless storm
Title:
We unleash the merciless storm
ISBN:
9780062691347
Edition:
1st ed.
Physical Description:
388 pages ; 22 cm.
Summary:
On the other side of Medio's border wall, the oppressed class fights for freedom and liberty, sacrificing what little they have to become defenders of the cause. Carmen Santos is one of La Voz's best soldiers: she spent years undercover, but now, with her identity exposed and the island on the brink of a civil war, Carmen returns to La Voz's headquarters. There she must reckon with her beloved leader, who is under the influence of an aggressive new recruit, and with the devastating news that her true love might be the target of an assassination plot, culminating in an excruciating question of loyalty -- to her cause or to her love.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION MEJ 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION MEJ 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION MEJ 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book XX(480314.2) 0 1
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

In this nail-biting sequel to Tehlor Kay Mejia's critically acclaimed fantasy novel We Set the Dark on Fire, La Voz operative Carmen is forced to choose between the girl she loves and the success of the rebellion she's devoted her life to. Perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and Anna-Marie McLemore.

Being a part of the resistance group La Voz is an act of devotion and desperation. On the other side of Medio's border wall, the oppressed class fights for freedom and liberty, sacrificing what little they have to become defenders of the cause.

Carmen Santos is one of La Voz's best soldiers. She spent years undercover, but now, with her identity exposed and the island on the brink of a civil war, Carmen returns to the only real home she's ever known: La Voz's headquarters.

There she must reckon with her beloved leader, who is under the influence of an aggressive new recruit, and with the devastating news that her true love might be the target of an assassination plot. Will Carmen break with her community and save the girl who stole her heart--or fully embrace the ruthless rebel she was always meant to be?


Reviews 3

Horn Book Review

This return to the dystopian world of We Set the Dark on Fire (rev. 7/19)whose protagonist was Dani, one of two wives to rising politico Mateofocuses on Carmen. Danis co-wife and secret romantic partner, Carmen was revealed in the first installment to be a member of the resistance group La Voz. Now she has left Mateos home for the groups compound. La Voz demands absolute devotion and any sacrifice necessary for its fight against an unjust government (as in the first installment, this society includes references to our own, particularly a walled border). Carmen is torn between the group and her desire to protect Dani, whos still at Mateos side and whose complete loyalty to La Voz hasnt yet been proven. Her resulting decisions set off a fast-paced journey, complete with daring escapes, assassinations, and a few steamy (though not graphic) encounters, allowing its heroines to display impressive survival and fighting skills as well as deep emotions. Fans whove grown attached to Carmen and Dani will appreciate this duology-concluders more extensive look into their lives and the inventive world in which they live. Shoshana Flax March/April 2020 p.85(c) Copyright 2020. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Kirkus Review

Tragedy and heroism interweave in a story about revolution, resistance, and beautiful queer love. After the devastating ending to We Set the Dark on Fire (2019), Carmen Santos, no longer the Segunda to Mateo Garcia, Medio's most powerful heir, is on the run toward the La Voz headquarters. Carmen used to be one of the resistance's most well-respected members, but after years away on undercover assignment, she finds the fabled El Buitre's wavering leadership has taken a new, hazardous direction. Proving that her allegiance to the cause remains as strong as ever is more difficult than expected, her heart torn between her beliefs and Dani, the girl she has fallen in love with but doesn't know yet if she can fully trust. Shifting perspective and setting to Carmen and the La Voz camp (after the first novel centered Dani and the capital) is a bold choice that ultimately pans out as readers are rewarded with Carmen's strong, determined voice and Mejia's lush writing depicting the complexities of the ongoing fight against oppression in a divided, Latinx-inspired world. Carmen's divided heart rings true, her daring actions meeting deadly consequences that realistically intensify the narrative without losing track of what the fight is all about: equality for all. A secondand finalvolume that not only surpasses the accomplishments of its celebrated predecessor, but takes it to a higher, brighter level. Thrilling, timely, and terrific. (Fantasy. 14-18) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

In the closing moments of We Set the Dark on Fire (2019), Carmen Santos revealed her secret: she is not merely a Segunda, the second wife to oppressive Mateo, a man rising through the ranks of Medio's political system, but a lifelong agent for the resistance group La Voz, embedded in this role for years. While the first book in this duology was about Daniela Vargas, Mateo's first wife, a girl with forged papers newly contacted by La Voz, this second volume belongs to Carmen, a seasoned warrior and spy. As she returns to La Voz, Carmen struggles with how the group has changed in the years since she's been away. Harder still, she struggles not to show emotion over Dani, the girl she left behind the girl she might have loved lest the resistance leaders think her feelings have compromised her judgment. But with every day that Dani remains in danger, the conflict in Carmen's heart grows. Mejia clearly distinguishes Carmen's voice from Dani's in this conclusion, offering up a companion novel that works in partnership with her debut. Modern political issues are woven into the story, never didactically but with an urgency that lends substantial weight. Where the first volume was subtlety and shadows, this is emotion and adrenaline, and it will carry readers through to an ending that feels entirely earned.--Maggie Reagan Copyright 2020 Booklist