Cover image for A constellation of roses
Title:
A constellation of roses
ISBN:
9780062747105
Edition:
1st ed.
Physical Description:
326 pages ; 22 cm.
Geographic Term:
Summary:
Ever since her mother walked out, Trix McCabe has been determined to make it on her own. And with her near-magical gift for pulling valuables off unsuspecting strangers, Trix is confident she has what it takes to survive. Until she's caught and given a choice: jail time, or go live with her long-lost family in the tiny town of Rocksaw, Kansas. Trix doesn't plan to stick around Rocksaw long, but there's something special about her McCabe relatives that she is drawn to. Her aunt, Mia, bakes pies that seem to cure all ills. Her cousin, Ember, can tell a person's deepest secret with the touch of a hand. And Trix's great-aunt takes one look at Trix's palm and tells her that if she doesn't put down roots somewhere, she won't have a future anywhere. Before long, Trix feels like she might finally belong with this special group of women in this tiny town in Kansas. But when her past comes back to haunt her, she'll have to decide whether to take a chance on this new life . . . or keep running from the one she's always known.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION ASE 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION ASE 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION ASE 1 1
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Perfect for fans of Tell Me Three Things and The Astonishing Color of After, A Constellation of Roses is brimming with a magic all its own--lovable and flawed characters, an evocative setting, and friendships to treasure.

Ever since her troubled mother abandoned her, Trix McCabe has preferred to stay on the move.

But when she lands with her long-lost relatives, she finds out that the McCabe women have talents like her own that defy explanation: pies that cure all ills, palm-reading that never misses the mark, knowledge of secrets that have never been told.

Before long, Trix feels like she might finally have found somewhere she belongs. But when her past comes back to haunt her, she'll have to decide whether to take a chance on this new life . . . or keep running from the one she's always known.

More magic awaits in the stunning companion novel, The Deepest Roots, which Booklist called "a must-read" in a starred review!


Reviews 2

Kirkus Review

A teenager finds love and family after a tough start in life. Seventeen-year-old Trixie McCabe is a school dropout and a drifter living on her own since her drug-addicted mother walked out on her. Trix uses her gift for going unnoticed to steal whatever she needs to support herself. When she is caught by social services, she is given the choice to either go to jail or live with her late father's family in the small town of Rocksaw, Kansas. After she chooses the latter option, Trix discovers that possessing a gift marks her as a true McCabe woman: Her aunt, Mia, can bake magical pies while her cousin, Ember, can tell a person's deepest secret through touch. But even though she is welcomed with open arms, staying put goes against Trix's instincts and everything she has ever known. A stand-alone companion to Asebedo's debut, The Deepest Roots (2018), the novel follows Trix's journey as she makes choices that will define her, with an arc that explores trauma, loneliness, and acceptance. If some of the plot points are paint-by-numbers, this is offset by the genuinely touching and supportive relationship between the McCabe women. The magical abilities of the McCabes are an open secret in Rocksaw, accepted at face value. Trix is coded as white, and some secondary characters are people of color, including Trix's Latinx romantic interest, Jasper Ruiz. Whimsical and heartwarming. (Magical realism. 14-18) Copyright (c) Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

Magical realism and powerful women become a calling card for Asebedo (The Deepest Roots, 2018) with her sophomore novel, which follows a teen, Trix McCabe, with an uncanny knack for thievery. After she's busted for living alone as a minor, Trix moves to middle-of-nowhere Rocksaw, Kansas, to live with the father she's never met and a family she never knew she had. Trix meets her Aunt Mia, the town matchmaker, who bakes healing pies; her no-nonsense great-aunt, who reads palms; and her cousin Ember, whose power to learn secrets with her hands keeps her distant. Despite the kindness shown to her, Trix has never been one to stay put, even before her mother abandoned her a year prior. Asebedo unravels a beautiful tale of secrets and shame as Trix's story gradually unfolds. The McCabe women are the foundation of Trix's tale, but the side characters are equally rich. A compelling exploration of what makes a family, how the past defines us, and the struggle to change.