Cover image for All the stars and teeth
Title:
All the stars and teeth
ISBN:
9781250307781
Edition:
1st ed.
Physical Description:
373 pages ; 22 cm.
Summary:
As princess of the island kingdom Visidia, Amora Montara has spent her entire life training to be High Animancer--the master of souls. The rest of the realm can choose their magic, but for Amora, it's never been a choice. To secure her place as heir to the throne, she must prove her mastery of the monarchy's dangerous soul magic. When her demonstration goes awry, Amora is forced to flee. She strikes a deal with Bastian, a mysterious pirate: he'll help her prove she's fit to rule, if she'll help him reclaim his stolen magic. But sailing the kingdom holds more wonder--and more peril--than Amora anticipated. A destructive new magic is on the rise, and if Amora is to conquer it, she'll need to face legendary monsters, cross paths with vengeful mermaids, and deal with a stow-away she never expected... or risk the fate of Visidia and lose the crown forever. --
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION GRA 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION GRA 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION GRA 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION GRA 0 1
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

" Fierce and unrelenting ... Do yourself a favor and get lost in this beautiful book! " --Tomi Adeyemi, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Children of Blood and Bone

Set in a kingdom where danger lurks beneath the sea, mermaids seek vengeance with song, and magic is a choice, Adalyn Grace's All the Stars and Teeth is a thrilling fantasy for fans of Stephanie Garber's Caraval and Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass series.

She will reign.

As princess of the island kingdom Visidia, Amora Montara has spent her entire life training to be High Animancer--the master of souls. The rest of the realm can choose their magic, but for Amora, it's never been a choice. To secure her place as heir to the throne, she must prove her mastery of the monarchy's dangerous soul magic.

When her demonstration goes awry, Amora is forced to flee. She strikes a deal with Bastian, a mysterious pirate: he'll help her prove she's fit to rule, if she'll help him reclaim his stolen magic.

But sailing the kingdom holds more wonder--and more peril--than Amora anticipated. A destructive new magic is on the rise, and if Amora is to conquer it, she'll need to face legendary monsters, cross paths with vengeful mermaids, and deal with a stowaway she never expected... or risk the fate of Visidia and lose the crown forever.

I am the right choice. The only choice. And I will protect my kingdom.

An Imprint Book

" Vicious and alluring, All the Stars and Teeth is a force to be reckoned with ."
--Hafsah Faizal, author of We Hunt the Flame

"Jam-packed with swashbuckling adventure, swoonworthy romance, and dark, lush magic ."
--Christine Lynn Herman, author of The Devouring Gray

"If an epic sea fantasy filled with strange pirates and vengeful mermaids speaks to your interests, well...we may have found your favorite book ever ....a tale of magic and second chances that's fresh and thrilling in equal measure. " - Entertainment Weekly

One of Buzzfeed's " Most Anticipated YA Books of 2020 "


Author Notes

Adalyn Grace graduated from Arizona State University when she was nineteen years old. She spent four years working in live theater and acted as the managing editor of a nonprofit newspaper before studying storytelling as an intern on Nickelodeon Animation's popular series The Legend of Korra . Adalyn splits time between San Diego and Arizona with her bossy cat and two dorky dogs, and spends her days writing full-time while trying to find the best burrito around. All the Stars and Teeth is her debut novel.


Reviews 3

Publisher's Weekly Review

In the island kingdom of Visidia, the royal Montaras are the only ones with the ability to practice gruesome soul magic. Anyone else trying to harness it will corrupt their own soul, waking the beast the first Montara ancestor subdued. Princess Amora Montara, 18, is among the last remaining heirs to the Montara throne. When a ceremony to prove her magical aptitude goes awry, she escapes Arida with the help of Bastian, a pirate; in return, Amora will help him regain his magic from a powerful rising rebel named Kaven, who is set on challenging the magic system imposed by the monarchy. Journeying across the kingdom aboard Bastian's cursed ship, Amora's fiancé, Ferrick, a skilled healer, and a mistreated, vicious mermaid named Vataea round out the crew. As Amora bears witness to the plights of her kingdom's constituents and unveils long-hidden secrets, she must face the truth of her family's reign. Though a reliance on genre-familiar tropes and a sprawling magic system weaken Grace's debut, this fast-paced duology opener excels in its careful consideration of the responsibilities that come with power. Ages 15--up. Agent: Hillary Jacobson, ICM Partners. (Feb.)


Kirkus Review

A princess embarks on a dangerous path to the throne. In the island kingdom of Visidia, where each person is allowed just one type of magic, only the members of the royal Montara family have the ability to wield the dangerous soul magic. Princess Amora is next in line to be High Animancer, but she must first prove to her people that she is powerful enough to use her magic to protect them. But something goes terribly wrong during a critical public ceremony, and Amora runs away with dashing pirate Bastian, whose rescue comes with a price: She must help him recover his own magic, stolen away by a dangerous man leading a growing rebellion that could bring down the whole kingdom. Debut author Grace wields her own magic with a skillful balancing act between high-stakes adventure (here there be monsters, mermaids, and high-seas shenanigans), bloody fantasy, and character development in a story with a lovable found family at its core. Amora yearns for adventure just as she welcomes her right to command her kingdom; her ferocious sense of duty and legitimate need to do good shine through. The novel's further unravelling of dark secrets long kept comes with a recognized need for accountability and making amends which adds a thoughtful extra layer to the rich worldbuilding. Amora has copper-brown skin and dark, curly hair; other characters have a range of skin tones in this diverse world. An accomplished, exciting debut. (guide to the kingdom) (Fantasy. 14-adult) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

Amora Montara is princess of the island nation of Visidia, and she will be its queen; it is not only her birthright, but also a role she must perform because of a deadly, unstable type of magic that only her bloodline can access. But when she violently loses control of her magic, her people turn against her. She escapes only because of a smooth-talking pirate named Bastian, who has an agenda of his own. On his ship, the Keel Haul, Bastian and Amora strike a deal: she'll help him reclaim his lost magic, and he'll help her take back her throne. But first, they'll ally with powerful mermaids, battle sea monsters, and contend with the fiancé Amora never wanted, who is determined to accompany them. As Amora sees more of the land she means to rule, she questions everything she thought she knew. Breathtakingly adventurous, this debut is ambitious in its world building and alluring in its characterizations. There's a lot here that will appeal to fantasy readers, and an open ending will leave them hungry for the sequel.