Cover image for All we buried
Title:
All we buried
ISBN:
9781643852911
Edition:
1st ed.
Physical Description:
295 pages ; 25 cm.
Summary:
"Interim sheriff Elizabeth "Bet" Rivers has always had one repeat nightmare: a shadowy figure throwing a suspicious object into her hometown lake in Collier, Washington. For the longest time, she chalked it up to an overactive imagination as a kid. Then the report arrives. In the woods of the Cascade mountain range, right in her jurisdiction, a body floats to the surface of Lake Collier. When the body is extricated and revealed, no one can identify Jane Doe. But someone must know the woman, so why aren't they coming forward? Bet has been sitting as the interim sheriff of this tiny town in the ill-fitting shoes of her late father and predecessor. With the nightmare on her heels, Bet decided to build a life for herself in Los Angeles, but now it's time to confront the tragic history of Collier. The more she learns, the more Bet realizes she doesn't know the townspeople of Collier as well as she thought, and nothing can prepare her for what she is about to discover. --
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book MYSTERY TAY 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book MYSTERY TAY 0 1
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Deep in the woods surrounding the Cascade mountain range, a canvas-wrapped body floats in a lake, right in Elizabeth "Bet" Rivers's jurisdiction. Bet has been sitting as interim sheriff of Collier after her father's--the previous sheriff's--death six months ago. Everyone knows everyone in a town like Collier. She has made it her duty to protect the people she's come to see as family. And she intends to hold her title in the upcoming election, but she's never worked a murder investigation on her own before and her opponent and deputy, Dale Kovac, isn't going down without a fight.

Upon unwrapping the corpse, Bet discovers the woman is from out of town. Without an identification, the case grows that much more puzzling. Determined to prove herself worthy, however, Bet must confront the warped history of Collier. The more she learns, the more she realizes she doesn't know the townspeople of Collier as well as she thought, and nothing can prepare her for what she is about to discover.


Author Notes

Elena Taylor worked in theater for twenty years before she turned her storytelling skills to fiction. Elena was a playwright, director, designer, technician, and educator. Elena taught a variety of theater classes at the college/university level, as well as Popular Fiction. She also teaches workshops on writing and works one-on-one with writers as a developmental editor and writing coach. She is also the author of a private eye series, published under the name Elena Hartwell. When she's not writing, she can be found playing with her horses, dog, cats, and hanging out with her husband at their home on the Middle Fork of the Snoqualmie River.


Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

This well-crafted series launch from the pseudonymous Taylor (the Eddie Shoes mysteries as Elena Hartwell) introduces Bet Rivers, an LAPD detective who has returned to her hometown of Collier, Wash., population "less than a thousand," to be the new sheriff after the death of her ailing father, Sheriff Earle Rivers. The discovery of the body of a young woman floating in Lake Collier, wrapped in canvas, plunges Bet into her first murder investigation. The action starts slowly as Taylor skillfully sets the scene, describing the distinctive local landscape and the large cast of characters, past and present, one of whom may be a murderer. After a second woman's body is found in the lake, Bet shifts into high gear and uncovers secret caves, hidden gold, a hoarder's den, and old rivalries. Meanwhile, in an intriguing subplot, Bet's deputy plans to run for sheriff against her in the next election. The introspective, conflicted Bet proves her mettle. Readers will look forward to her next outing. Agent: Madelyn Burt, Stonesong Literary. (Apr.)


Booklist Review

This new series introduces Elizabeth "Bet" Rivers, interim sheriff in the small town of Collier, Washington, nestled in the beautiful Cascade Mountains. Bet's original plan was to graduate from police academy, build a career in L.A., and then return home to fill her father's shoes as sheriff, after he retired. Life had a different plan; with her father recovering from an illness, Bet is summoned back to Collier to take her father's place, at least temporarily. Suddenly, after a body is found in nearby Lake Collier, Bet must solve her first murder case, which will require both bringing to light some unsavory secrets as well as confronting skeletons in her own closet. For support, Bet has Alma, her seventysomething secretary, a fine supporting character. This spooky and suspenseful story should be a must-read for fans of Lisa Unger, J. A. Jance, and Julia Keller. Taylor is also the author of the Eddie Shoes series, written under the name of Elena Hartwell.