Cover image for Vamos! Let's go eat!
Title:
Vamos! Let's go eat!
ISBN:
9781328557049
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 27 cm.
Reading Level:
AD 560 L Lexile
Added Author:
Summary:
Little Lobo, a Mexican American, and Bernabé, his dog, gather tacos, frutas picadas, cuernos, and more and deliver them to los luchadores preparing for Lucha Libre 5000.
Language Note:
Spanish words and phrases are used throughout English text.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book PICTURE BOOK RAU 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book PICTURE BOOK RAU 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book PICTURE BOOK RAU 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book PICTURE BOOK RAU 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book PICTURE BOOK RAU 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book SPA PICTURE BOOK RAU 0 1
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Little Lobo returns to share his love of food and wrestling in this delicious follow-up to Vamos! Let 's Go to the Market from Pura Belpré Medal-winning illustrator Raúl the Third.

In this new Vamos! title, Let's Go Eat, Little Lobo is excited to take in a show with wrestling star El Toro in his bustling border town. After getting lunch orders from The Bull and his friends to help prepare for the event, Little Lobo takes readers on a tour of food trucks that sell his favorite foods, like quesadillas with red peppers and Mexican-Korean tacos. Peppered with easy-to-remember Latin-American Spanish vocabulary, this glorious celebration of food is sure to leave every reader hungry for lunch!

Jam-packed with fun details and things to see, the Vamos! books are perfect for fans of Richard Scarry and Where's Waldo?


Author Notes

Raúl the Third is a Pura Belpré Award-winning illustrator and the author/illustrator of Vamos! Let's Go to the Market . He is also the illustrator for the Lowriders in Space series by Cathy Camper and is currently working on a YA graphic novel with David Bowles. He grew up between El Paso, TX and Ciudad Juárez, México and now lives in Boston, MA with colorist Elaine Bay. Visit him at www.artbyraul.com, on Twitter: @raulthe3rd and on Instagram: @raulthethird.info


Reviews 5

School Library Journal Review

Gr 2--5--Delivery wolf extraordinaire Little Lobo must feed his hungriest clients yet. First seen in ¡Vamos! Let's Go to the Market, Little Lobo and his dog, Bernabé, return with a new bike for speedy deliveries. The new wheels help the duo hit up a variety of food trucks to satisfy the diverse desires of a troupe of hungry luchadores with aliases like La Oink Oink and the ingeniously named Armor Dillo. Much like Market, the narrative is secondary to the richly detailed world Little Lobo explores. Anthropomorphic roosters, cats, bunnies, snakes, and even a pig with a tattoo that says jamon all have a friendly smile and words of encouragement for Little Lobo. A cucaracha with a yellow shirt, white cowboy hat, and bolo tie accompanies Little Lobo throughout the story: this book's version of Richard Scarry's Goldbug. Throughout this delicious odyssey, readers are treated to a smorgasbord of Mexican food terms, and the intricate illustrations are peppered with Spanish labels for the items pictured, from lapiz (pencil) to molcajete (mortar and pestle for making salsa). Be prepared to be lost in this book para siempre. VERDICT Combining two iconic elements of Mexican culture, food trucks and lucha libre, this tale will make readers of all ages hungry for tacos, burritos, and elote (Mexican street corn)--and for more stories set in the inviting, busy town created by Raúl the Third.--Chance Lee Joyner, Wilton Public and Gregg Free Library, NH


Publisher's Weekly Review

Now that he has a bicycle with a sidecar in addition to his wagon, Little Lobo, the young wolf who starred in Raúl the Third's first bilingual ¡Vamos! story, is really in business: "Now we can make our deliveries faster," he tells his dog, Bernabé. When famous luchador El Toro asks Little Lobo to deliver food for all the luchadores before a big match, the list proves long--"¡Tortas de milanesa!" "¡Churros!" "¡Elotes!" The square around el Coliseo is frantically busy with food trucks, some--like Taco Tuesday Everyday--in the shape of the foods they proffer, and Little Lobo knows them all. As in the first volume, Spanish words define background objects throughout, and the artwork's dynamic vibe sends energy through spreads of the marketplace and its community. Suppliers and cooks cooperate ("Quique's Quesadillas and Bronco's Burritos buy their tortillas from Abuela"), and every cook knows their customers' preferences: one "always gives Bernabé a sample of her masa." The vital images, the dazzling colors and light (shout-out to colorist Elaine Bay), and the devotion to Mexican food and eating make this story utterly distinctive--and delicious. Final art not seen by PW. Ages 4--7. (Mar.)


Horn Book Review

Little Lobo and his canine sidekick Bernab, whom we met in Vamos!: Lets Go to the Market (rev. 3/19), are getting ready for another day in their delivery business when they receive an urgent request from their favorite wrestler, El Toro. The luchadores are training for a big show, and they are hungry! Thankfully, Little Lobo knows all the best food trucks where they can get enough tacos, carnitas, elotes, tamales, and burritos (and enough choices for dessert) to satisfy the energy needs of a group of wrestling stars. Little Lobo, Bernab, their rooster friend Kooky Dooky, and all the characters in this diverting adventure are cartoony animals or imaginary creatures, and a straightforward narration is complemented by plenty of comic vignettes that advance the plot with dialogue in English, Spanish, and Spanglish. The busy illustrations are full of context clues and detailed elements. The characters are animated, and the scenes are vibrant with activity and movementfrom a very stretchy cheese to a stack of flying tortillas. The abundance of labels and street signs makes this book a vocabulary lesson, too, on ingredients, food trucks, and culinary delicacies. Alicia K. LongMarch/April 2020 p.69(c) Copyright 2020. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Kirkus Review

Little Lobo is tasked with nourishing nine famished luchadores.Following Vamos! Let's Go to the Market (2019), author/illustrator Ral the Third and colorist Bay create a second installment in their bilingual series, Vamos!, here following Little Lobo's journey as he provides sustenance to hungry lucha libre stars. The cheerfully energetic anthropomorphic wolf reprises his role as a bike courier when he receives a message from El Toro and makes his way to el Coliseo, winding and weaving through busy streets. A mouthwatering experience follows as Little Loboaccompanied by dog Bernab and rooster pal Kooky Dookypicks up tacos, diced fruit, freshly made tortillas, flan, and buuelos from a gathering of food trucks. As in his other work, Ral the Third imbues his pages with real-world and pop-culture references. An homage to Picasso's Guernica, recognizable Ciudad Jurez-El Paso landmarks, a Chavo del Ocho inside a barrel, and even a Chapuln Colorado marionette all make the cut. Readers ignorant of these specifics will not feel left out: The busy pages filled with interesting characters and intriguing bilingual signage make readers wish they could jump into the pages and experience the bustling town. Bay's comic book-style coloring and creative textures provide a deep cultural exposure to the lavish array of Mexican food throughout the spreads. After enjoying the story, readers will keep going back to savor all the minuscule details.A delectable bilingual experience. (Picture book. 4-7) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

Little Lobo is back for another fun-filled Spanish-learning adventure. This time he's making a delivery to his friend El Toro at the Coliseo, but all of the luchadores have ordered very different things. Lobo heads to the food trucks parked outside ahead of the big show, and there readers can feast their eyes on all sorts of foods, from quesadillas to tamales and the stretchiest of stretchy cheeses. Each page is rich with words in Spanish, presented in a reader-friendly format with translations if needed. The spreads are dense with background detail, and readers can spend ages poring over them to discover something new in the scenery. The story is simplistic, so as to not draw away from what's going on in each spread, and bilingual readers will have a laugh at things like a pair of pig luchadores being called Los Chicharrones or the food palomita being sold by a, well, palomita. This is a great way to learn about many different sorts of Mexican foods, not to mention picking up some Spanish along the way.--Kristina Pino Copyright 2020 Booklist