Cover image for The deck of omens
Title:
The deck of omens
ISBN:
9781368025270
Edition:
1st ed.
Physical Description:
372 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.
Summary:
Though the Beast is seemingly subdued for now, a new threat looms in Four Paths: a corruption seeping from the Gray into the forest. And with the other Founders preoccupied by their tangled alliances and fraying relationships, only May Hawthorne seems to realize the danger. But saving the town she loves means seeking aid from the person her family despises most--her and Justin's father. May's father isn't the only newcomer in town--Isaac Sullivan's older brother has also returned, seeking forgiveness for the role he played in Isaac's troubled past. But Isaac isn't ready to let go of his family's history, especially when that history might hold the key that he and Violet Saunders need to destroy the Gray and the monster within it. Harper Carlisle isn't ready to forgive, either. Two devastating betrayals have left her isolated from her family and uncertain who to trust. As the corruption becomes impossible to ignore, Harper must learn to control her newfound powers in order to protect Four Paths. But the only people who can help her do that are the ones who have hurt her the most. With the veil between the Gray and the town growing ever thinner, all of the Founder descendants must put their grievances with one another aside to stop the corruption and kill the Beast once and for all.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION HER 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION HER 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book TEEN FICTION HER 1 1
Searching...

On Order

Library
Copy
Location
Parts
Stillwater Public Library1On Order

Summary

Summary

This hotly anticipated sequel to The Devouring Gray is perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater's The Raven Cycle and Stranger Things .
Though the Beast is seemingly subdued for now, a new threat lurks in Four Paths: a corruption seeping from the Gray into the forest. And with the other Founders preoccupied by their tangled alliances and fraying relationships, only May Hawthorne seems to realize the danger. But saving the town she loves means seeking aid from the person her family despises most -- her father, Ezra Bishop.
May's father isn't the only newcomer in town--Isaac Sullivan's older brother has also returned, seeking forgiveness for the role he played in Isaac's troubled past. But Isaac isn't ready to let go of his family's history, especially when that history might hold the key that he and Violet Saunders need to destroy the Gray and the monster within it.
Harper Carlisle isn't ready to forgive, either. Two devastating betrayals have left her isolated from her family and uncertain who to trust. As the corruption becomes impossible to ignore, Harper must learn to control her newfound powers in order to protect Four Paths. But the only people who can help her do that are the ones who have hurt her the most.
With the veil between the Gray and the town growing ever thinner, the Founder descendants must put their grievances with one another aside to stop the corruption and kill the Beast once and for all. But the monster they truly need to slay may never been the Beast...


Author Notes

Christine Lynn Herman subscribes to the firm philosophy that home is where her books are. Born in New York City but raised around the world, she returned to the United States to study at the University of Rochester, where she received an Honors English degree. Christine and her books reside in Cambridge, MA, along with her partner and their extremely spoiled cat. You can find her in the nearest forest trying to figure out how to become a tree, at christinelynnherman.com, or on Twitter and Instagram @christineexists.


Reviews 1

Kirkus Review

In this duology closer, heroes from The Devouring Gray (2019) must end the Gray and the Beast for good. May seeks to restore her family's sacred hawthorn tree, damaged when Harper lashed out at them, as she chafes against her complicated relationship with her mother. Meanwhile, Harper needs to learn to control her powers (and decide who to side with in the town's conflicts). Violet and Isaac have teamed up on a research project to destroy the Beast once and for all--which is complicated by the return of Isaac's last surviving brother (forcing him to face what happened the night of his ritual). And the Beast isn't the only problem: A sinister corruption leaks from the Gray, infecting townspeople. The founders must unravel their ancestors' secrets--the nature of the magic and the Beast--in order to fulfill their responsibilities. Reveals and surprises make up for an occasionally dragging pace. The romantic entanglements form an elaborate love quadrangle: Bisexual Violet has a crush on bisexual Isaac, who is in love with Justin, who loves Harper, who still has feelings for him despite their fraught-with-betrayal past (while, in their parents' generation, Justin's and Violet's mothers--Augusta and Juniper, respectively--dated in high school). However, the relationships are given depth and nuance, especially when the characters work through familial, unreciprocated, or unequal feelings. Characters default to white. A solid conclusion to a story with many spinning parts. (Paranormal/horror. 12-adult) Copyright (c) Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.