Cover image for The deceivers
Title:
The deceivers
ISBN:
9780062838407
Edition:
First edition.
Physical Description:
435 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.
Added Author:
Summary:
Told from separate viewpoints, as Finn, Emma, and Chess Greystone and Natalie Mayhew, ages eight to thirteen, continue their quest to rescue their mothers they must return to the alternate dimension where truth is illegal.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book J FICTION HAD 1 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book J FICTION HAD 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book J FICTION HAD 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book J FICTION HAD 0 1
Searching...
Searching...
Book J FICTION HAD 0 2
Searching...

On Order

Library
Copy
Location
Parts
Stillwater Public Library1On Order

Summary

Summary

The second book in the Greystone Secrets series from the master of plot twists, Margaret Peterson Haddix--perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and The City of Ember! This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

Until their mother vanished, the Greystone kids--Chess, Emma, and Finn--knew nothing about the other world.

Everything is different there. It's a mirror image, except things are wrong. Evil. Their mother tried to fix it, but she and an ally got trapped there along with Ms. Morales, their friend Natalie's mom.

Now the four kids--brave Chess, smart Emma, kind Finn, and savvy Natalie--are determined to rescue everyone.

To do so, they have to go back: into the other world, where even telling the truth can be illegal.

But in such a terrifying place, Chess doubts he can ever be brave enough. Despite all her brains, Emma can't seem to break the code. With everything spiraling out of control, Finn has to pretend he's okay.

And for Natalie, the lies of the other world include some she wishes were actually true. What if she's gotten so used to lying she no longer knows what to believe?

The second book in the Greystone Secrets series, The Deceivers, by bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix, continues the twisty and suspenseful story of the Greystone kids and examines the power of the truth--or a lie--to alter lives, society, and even an entire reality.

Praise for Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers

*Winter 2018-2019 Kids' Indie Next List Pick*

"A secret-stacked, thrilling series opener." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"An engrossing mystery with a cliff-hanger ending to raise the stakes and delight fans new and old." --Booklist

"Maintains suspense from the beginning to the cliffhanger ending. A high-stakes adventure full of teamwork with a multifaceted mystery and complex themes." --Kirkus Reviews


Author Notes

Margaret Peterson Haddix was born in Washington Court House, Ohio on April 9, 1964. She received bachelor's degrees in English/journalism, English/creative writing, and history from Miami University in 1986. Before becoming an author, she was a copy editor for The Journal-Gazette, a newspaper reporter for The Indianapolis News, an instructor at Danville Area Community College, and a freelance writer. Her first book, Running Out of Time, was published in 1995. She has written more than 30 books including Don't You Dare Read This, Mrs. Dunphrey, Just Ella, Turnabout, The Girl with 500 Middle Names, Because of Anya, and Into the Gauntlet. She also writes the Shadow Children series and the Missing series. She has won the International Reading Association Children's Book Award and several state Readers' Choice Awards.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Kirkus Review

Four kids rush to rescue their families from the clutches of a tyrannical government in an alternate dimension. In series opener The Strangers (2019), siblings Finn, Emma, and Chess escaped the parallel world into which their mother disappeared, but they still failed to reunite their family. During their desperate flight from danger, the Greystone siblings' friend Natalie Mayhew lost her mother there, too. Their only path between worlds, a lever stuck to the wall of the Greystones' basement, broke. Now all four kids must work together to reopen the tunnel to a dangerous dystopia and decipher the secret code that Kate Greystone left for her children to solve. This sequel never slows in pace, thrusting the characters into new, treacherous mysteries. In this sequel, Haddix explores themes of honesty and love as the children compare their experiences to those in the alternate universe. Natalie struggles with her relationship with her parents, who are divorced in one world and married in the other. The third-person perspective shifts chapter by chapter among the characters; the Greystone kids present white, and Natalie is biracial, with a Mexican mom and white dad. At times, the setting is logistically disorienting, such as the maze of secret passages and the multilevel glass-roofed event space somehow hidden behind a curtain in the basement of Natalie's house in the alternate world. A perilous, high-action plot--with a cliffhanger. (Science fiction. 8-12) Copyright (c) Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

It's time to dust off your memory of Greystone Secrets: The Strangers (2019) because this sequel picks up right where it left off. Though Haddix peppers in enough reminders to jog most readers' memories, those new to the series should definitely start at the beginning. The three Greystone siblings (Chess, Emma, and Finn) and their friend Natalie are desperately trying to crack the code that will help them save their mothers from the hostile parallel world where they are imprisoned. A breakthrough lands the kids in Other-Natalie's house the parallel world mirrors much of the protagonists' world, including the people living in it on the eve of a large political soiree, leaving them little time to stage a rescue and figure out whom in this world they can trust. Readers will have a ball scurrying through the secret passageways as the tense caper unfolds, but Haddix also gives plenty of page time to the kids' inner musings. Thus readers are ensured a rich mystery-adventure that will activate their brains and sense of empathy.--Julia Smith Copyright 2020 Booklist