Cover image for Bears behaving badly
Title:
Bears behaving badly
ISBN:
9781492697015
Physical Description:
377 pages ; 18 cm
Geographic Term:
Summary:
"Werebear shifter Annette Garsea is a caseworker for the Interspecies Placement Agency. When a selectively mute and freakishly strong teen werewolf is put in her custody, Annette has to uncover the young girl's secrets if she's to have any hopes of helping her. And not even the growling of a scruffy private investigator can distract her from her mission...Bear shifter David Auberon appreciates Annette's work with at-risk teen shifters, but he's not sure if her latest charge is so much a vulnerable teen as a predator who should be locked up. All that changes when he, Annette, and her motley band of juveniles find themselves dodging multiple murder attempts and uncovering a trafficking cartel that doesn't just threaten the kids, but risks discovery of the shifters by the wider world of homo sapiens."--Publisher.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Copies
Status
Searching...
Book ROMANCE DAV 1 1
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

"Slow-burn sexual tension and playful paranormal elements make this hilarious, sizzling romance perfect for fans of Kresley Cole's Immortals After Dark series."-- Publishers Weekly, STARRED review

"Davidson is in peak form in this hilarious, sexy, and heartfelt paranormal romance"-- Booklist, STARRED review

They're not dating, they've never been dating, they're not going to hook up, no way...oh. Oops.

Annette Garsea is the fiercest bear shifter the interspecies foster care system has ever seen. She fights hard for the safety and happiness of the at-risk shifter teens and babies in her charge--and you do not want to get on the wrong side of a mama werebear. Handsome, growly bear shifter PI David Auberon has secretly been in love with Annette since forever but he's too shy to make a move. All he can do is offer her an unlimited supply of Skittles and hope she'll notice him.

She's noticed the appealingly scruffy PI (and his sugar fixation), all right, but solitary bears make her nervous, and the man's barely ever said more than five words to her... Until the night they risk everything to rescue a were-baby and bring down a hideous bad guy. Dodging unidentified enemies puts them in a tight spot. Very tight. Together. Tonight. Oh...like that, is it?

There'sno looking back now...


Author Notes

MARYJANICE DAVIDSON is the New York Times and USA Today best-selling author of the UNDEAD and UNWED paranormal romcom series. Her books have been published in over a dozen languages and have been bestsellers worldwide. A former model and medical test subject (two jobs that are close than you'd think), she lives with her family in St. Paul, MN.


Reviews 4

Publisher's Weekly Review

Characters banter a mile a minute in the excellent, screwball paranormal rom-com that kicks off Davidson's Bewere My Heart series (after Deja New). Bear-shifters Annette Garsea, an indomitable interspecies foster system caseworker, and David Auberon, a stalwart private investigator, team up to stop a criminal who is targeting juvenile shifters. Though Annette believes she's too busy for love and the charmingly bashful David thinks he has no chance with her, the romantic tension only grows as they work together, soon giving way to sexy make-out sessions. Annette's intense protective instinct toward her young charges is backed up by smarts and shifter strength, making her an admirable heroine. David is her match in intelligence and muscle, but it is his blundering attempts at flirtation that make him so endearing. A host of secondary characters, including Annette's wacky roommate, Pat, and mysterious colleague, Nadia, serve as entertaining diversions from the procedural mystery at the center of the story. Slow-burn sexual tension and playful paranormal elements make this hilarious, sizzling romance perfect for fans of Kresley Cole's Immortals After Dark series. Agent: Ethan Ellenberg, Ethan Ellenberg Literary Agency. (Apr.)


Kirkus Review

Bear shifters battle their attraction and awkward flirtations while trying to stop a criminal focused on terrorizing young shifters.Annette Garsea is one of the hardest and most dedicated caseworkers at the Interspecies Placement Agency of Minnesota, a foster care system for shifter species. It's her job to find homes and resources for at-risk shifter youth and children. At times, her work brings her within close proximity of private investigator David Auberon. Both are bear shifters with an obvious connection, but Annette thinks she's too busy for a relationship, and David can't seem to say more than five words to Annette before getting tongue-tied. It takes a shifter baby in grave danger to give the two bears the nudge they need to graduate from strictly business to something way more than friends. Davidson's (Deja New, 2017, etc.) trademark goofiness, over-the-top action scenes, and fierce heroines are all accounted for along with a memorable cast of characters, though her books can be an acquired taste for readers who prefer their shifters growly and full of angst. David is a sweetheart with a long-standing crush on Annette; in his mind, she's way out of his league. He's also supportive and completely comfortable letting Annette shine as the fearsome mama bear. The pair are wonderfully matched, whether they're watching each other's backs in the midst of danger or being two utter cornballs once they let their feelings show. There's some of the cadence of old Hollywood banter in how they speak and what they sayexcept they can both shift into huge bears. Despite more serious themes like homelessness, kidnapping, and violence, it's very much a Marvel movie-type paranormal romance with all the action and none of the detailed, gruesome bloodshed.A comic-book thrill ride with the added appeal of bear shifters falling in love. Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

Davidson is in peak form in this hilarious, sexy, and heartfelt paranormal romance featuring beings who shift between human and animal selves. Annette Garsea, a werebear and caseworker for the Interspecies Placement Agency, deals with at-risk young shifters. Her diverse (mostly mammalian and avian) cadre of coworkers try to match her up with her secret crush, hunky private investigator and bear shifter David Auberon. They end up working together when Caro, a teen wolf shifter, is brought in with Dev, a delinquent tween fox shifter, who clams to be Caro's brother after she is taken into custody for attacking an adult shifter. As they investigate, Annette and David find heinous photos of child abuse and trafficking. Mayhem ensues, true friends and families bound by love, not blood, come to the fore, and Annette and David find passion while trying to keep the kids safe as they imperil themselves. While what Annette and David are dealing with is appalling, Davidson's focus on their dedication to protecting the young shifters turns this into a delightful feel-good romp. Readers will "bearly" be able to wait for the next book in Davidson's new BeWere My Heart series.


Library Journal Review

The interspecies foster care system is as tough as you can imagine, but werebear Annette Garsea is willing to fight for all the werekids that end up in her care. When David Auberon, private investigator, Annette's crush, and a fellow werebear, brings in a werewolf kid he prevented from killing someone, Annette knows she must get to the bottom of why. Caro, the werewolf, isn't talking, so Annette and David team up to unravel the mystery before more werekids are hurt. Someone doesn't want the duo to find out what's really going on, however, and Annette and David soon are caught in the crossfire. Trying to manage two teenaged werekids, a mystery that seems to get more disturbing the more they discover, and a crush blossoming into something more might be too much for even the most formidable of the weres. VERDICT Davidson (Undead and Unwed) is known for combining paranormal romance with a healthy serving of humor, and she brings a heaping dose of both to enhance this newest series.--Kellie Tilton, Univ. of Cincinnati Blue Ash