Cover image for The plain Janes
Title:
The plain Janes
ISBN:
9780316522724
Physical Description:
463 pages : color illustrations ; 22 cm

On Order

Library
Copy
Location
Parts
R.H. Stafford Library (Woodbury)1On Order
Hardwood Creek Library (Forest Lake)1On Order
Oakdale Library1On Order

Summary

Summary

Meet the Plain Janes--artist activists on a mission to wake up their sleepy suburban town. This cult classic graphic novel is perfect for fans of The LumberJanes and Awkward .

When artsy misfit Jane Beckles is forced to leave her beloved city life behind for the boring suburb of Kent Waters, she thinks her life is over. But then she finds where she belongs: at the reject table in the cafeteria, along with fellow misfits Brain Jayne, Theater Jane, and sporty Polly Jane. United by only two things-a shared name and frustration with the adults around them--the girls form a secret club dedicated to fighting suburban apathy with guerrilla works of art scattered around their small town.

But for Main Jane, the group is more than simple teenaged rebellion; it's an act of survival. She's determined not to let fear rule her life like it does her parents' and neighbors' lives. Armed with her sketchbook and a mission of resistance, the PLAIN Janes are out to prove that passion, bravery, and a group of great friends can save anyone from the hell that is high school.

With each installment printed in its own distinct color, this volume includes the original two stories-- The Plain Janes and Janes in Love --plus a never-before-seen third story, Janes Attack Back . The Janes are back, and better than ever.


Author Notes

Cecil Castellucc i is the author of books and graphic novels for young adults including Boy Proof , The Plain Janes , Soupy Leaves Home , The Year of the Beasts , Tin Star , Don't Cosplay With My Heart and the Eisner nominated Odd Duck . In 2015 she co-authored Moving Target: A Princess Leia Adventure . She is currently writing Shade, The Changing Girl , an ongoing comic on Gerard Way's Young Animal imprint at DC Comics. Her short stories and short comics have been published in Strange Horizons, Tor.com, Womanthology, Star Trek: Waypoint and Vertigo SFX: Slam! She is the Children's Correspondence Coordinator for The Rumpus, a two-time Macdowell Fellow, and the founding YA Editor at the LA Review of Books . She lives in Los Angeles. Jim Rugg is a comic book artist, bookmaker, illustrator, and designer. His books include Street Angel , The Plain Janes , Afrodisiac , Notebook Drawings , Rambo 3.5 and Supermag . He is a recipient of both the Eisner and Ignatz Awards and he teaches visual storytelling at the School of Visual Arts and the Animation Workshop in Denmark. He lives and draws in Pittsburgh.


Reviews 2

Kirkus Review

The PLAIN Janes (2007), Janes in Love (2008), and a new entry in the Janes series, Janes Attack Back, released in a single volume.In the first installment, printed in blue ink, Jane "Main Jane" Beckles was a regular teen until she was caught in a bombing in her city that prompted her parents to move to the suburbs. In her new school, she and her new friendsJane, Jayne, and Polly Janeform a guerrilla art group called P.L.A.I.N. (People Loving Art In Neighborhoods). The second entry, printed in pink, has the Janes struggling with interpersonal conflict and a lack of funds for art supplies. Jane corresponds with Miroslaw, the Polish stranger whose lifeand sketchbookshe saved in the explosion and whom she visited while he recuperated, unconscious, in hospital. Volume 3, which features green ink, picks up as the Janes scatter for summer break with Main Jane traveling to France to visit Miroslaw and attend an art class taught by his girlfriend. The illustrations smoothly integrate different art styles so that readers experience them at the same time Jane does. Upon returning for senior year, Jane meets Payne, a new student who holds radically different views on art. Their push and pull deftly shows how complex relationships can be and how competition can build both stronger art and stronger friendships. Main characters are white. Unfortunately, the word "tribe" remains in these reprints. Hopeful stories about art, activism, friendship, and recovery. (Graphic fiction. 13-16) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

This three-part graphic novel collects Castellucci's previously published cult classic The PLAIN Janes and its sequel Janes in Love, along with a new, third story called Janes Attack Back. In all, a group of girls share the same first name, yet their personalities are as different as can be. We have the artist, the athlete, the academic, and the thespian, but despite their differences, the Janes bond through civil disobedience at night, they sneak out and decorate the town in sculptures, notes, and other artwork, bringing beauty and discourse to their humdrum neighborhood. Meanwhile, they face the growing pains of friendship, romance, and independence. Rugg's simple linework allows him to call attention to the characters' distinct styles and expressions, and the panels depicting the fruits of the Janes' labor bring whimsy to otherwise realistic scenes, such as when they hang puppets along lampposts or when they reveal their floral decorations at a school dance. Teenagers looking for a relatable story will enjoy this series and may be inspired to bring creativity to their own lives, too. Final colors not seen.--Biz Hyzy Copyright 2020 Booklist