Cover image for Say Yes Summer
Title:
Say Yes Summer
ISBN:
9780399552311
Physical Description:
256 p. ;
Reading Level:
810 L Lexile

On Order

Library
Copy
Location
Parts
R.H. Stafford Library (Woodbury)1On Order
Hardwood Creek Library (Forest Lake)1On Order
Oakdale Library1On Order

Summary

Summary

Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Netflix/Hallmark Channel rom-coms, this is the story of a girl who decides to give in to the universe and just say yes to everything, bringing her friendship, new experiences, and, if she lets her guard down, true love.

The perfect book to kick off summer! For as long as Rachel Brooks can remember, she's had capital-G Goals: straight As, academic scholarship, college of her dreams. And it's all paid off--after years of following the rules and acing every exam, Rachel is graduating at the top of her class and ready to celebrate by . . . doing absolutely nothing. Because Rachel Brooks has spent most of high school saying no. No to dances, no to parties, and most especially, no to boys.

Now, for the first time in her life, there's nothing stopping Rachel from having a little fun--nothing, that is, except herself. So when she stumbles on a beat up old self-help book--A SEASON OF YES!--a crazy idea pops into her head: What if she just said yes to . . . everything?

And so begins a summer of yes. Yes to new experiences and big mistakes, yes to rekindled friendships and unexpected romances, yes to seeing the world in a whole new way. This book is a fresh and fun take on the coming-of-age novel that explores the quintessential themes of growing up: taking risks, making mistakes, and, of course, love. And who knows? Lindsey Roth Culli's hilarious and heartwarming debut may just inspire your own SAY YES SUMMER.


Author Notes

LINDSEY ROTH CULLI writes books for teens and people who used to be teens. She holds a degree in journalism and an MFA. She resides in Maryland with her husband and a hodgepodge of two- and four-legged creatures.



lindseyrothculli.com

@LRothCulli


Reviews 2

School Library Journal Review

Gr 7--10--Recent valedictorian Rachel has been laser-focused on her goals of obtaining high grades and getting into Northwestern University. Now that summer has arrived, she can finally relax. Reflecting that she had refused to participate in many high school rites of passage, and after finding a self-help book that encourages saying "yes" to new life experiences, Rachel decides to try this approach. She's quickly out of her comfort zone as she inadvertently becomes involved in a love triangle, reconnects with an old friend, and learns new truths about her classmates. While the John Hughes-esque narrative is rom-com in nature, Culli has crafted a more substantial book than readers might initially guess. She captures teen life and thoughts authentically, and shows that the way people present their lives to the public is not always what is truly happening behind the scenes. A strong supporting cast of characters also adds depth. VERDICT A definite purchase for YA collections, this winning book will have readers considering how a few key decisions could alter their entire lives. Lessons in taking risks, being true to yourself, and not buying into stereotypes create a truly compelling read.--Nancy McKay, Byron Public Library, IL


Kirkus Review

What if you said "yes" to absolutely everything? Rachel Walls spent her entire high school career completely focused on academics and "purposely cultivating total anonymity." Her hard work has made her valedictorian, but she's also missed out on lots of typical teenage experiences. When Rachel finds a book about the power of saying "yes," she takes it as a sign, and in the months before she starts college, she embarks on a "summer of yes." Can Rachel figure out how to say "yes" to her longtime crush as well as an old family friend and verbal sparring partner? Or are there consequences to saying "yes" blindly? The breezy plot starts with a graduation and finishes with a predictably happy ending. In between there are days filled with a lakeside picnic, couch cuddling, and endless pizza and ice cream. Rachel's season of exploration is dramatic only in comparison to the rest of her life. The serviceable plot is held together by a compelling cast of supporting characters, most notably Rachel's spirited Nonna and her loving blended family. Unfortunately, the protagonist herself lacks dimension, with Rachel's main characteristics being her work ethic and a deep-seated fear of making a mistake that will follow her forever. Most characters are white; there is passing mention of diversity in secondary characters. A fluffy summer read with G-rated heterosexual romances. (Fiction. 14-18) Copyright (c) Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.