Cover image for Journey to the volcano palace
Journey to the volcano palace
Publication Information:
New York : Scholastic, c1999.
Physical Description:
85 p. : ill. ; 20 cm.
Reading Level:
420 L Lexile
Added Author:


Material Type
Call Number
Item Available
Paperback book PB J SCI.FI FANTASY ABB 1 1

On Order



Eric, Julie, and Neal can't stop thinking about the magical world of Droon. They're even starting to dream about it. When all three kids dream about it on the same night, the decide to return and check on their new Droonian friends.At the base of the magical stairs they find themselves in a huge desert. Camped in a tent nearby are their friends Princess Keeah, the wizard Galen, and Max. Keeah and Galen are on a quest to find the Eye of the Dawn, a magical jewel that the evil Lord Sparr has stolen from Keeah.Their journey will bring them to Lord Sparr's secret volcano palace, where Keeah, Max, a purple Lumpy, and the three kids dodge the dangerous Ninns, meet a secretive water-witch, and discover one of Lord Sparr's biggest secrets. Lord Sparr can only keep his human form if he drinks from a magical pool. Otherwise, he turns back into a scaly beast.In the end, Eric's bravery and quick-thinking allows our heroes to reclaim the jewel and escape from Kano. The kids head home for now, bidding farewell and promising to return to help Droon fight against Sparr.

Author Notes

Tony Abbott was born in Cleveland, Ohio on January 7, 1952. He attended the University of Connecticut, majoring first in music, then psychology, and finally English. He graduated with a bachelor's degree in English literature. After that, he traveled to Europe before returning home and finding work in a variety of bookstores, a library and at an Internet book and magazine publisher.

His first published book, Danger Guys, was written while taking a writing class with children's author, Patricia Reilly Giff. Since then, he's written over 75 books for children ages 6 to 12, including The Secrets of Droon series, The Haunting of Derek Stone series, and The Time Surfers series. Firegirl won the Golden Kite Award for Fiction in 2007 and The Postcard won the Edgar Award for the Best Juvenile Mystery novel in 2009.

(Bowker Author Biography)